transition

I was going to post a recipe tonight, but now that I’m here, I think it’s just gonna be a few pictures instead.  In my last post, I mentioned that it’s again moving time for me & Joe.  We both work seasonally out in Wrangell-St.Elias National Park and Preserve, and so that means moving each spring & each fall.  It gets a bit exhausting, but at least we’re almost through with this go around….🙂

We left Fairbanks on Sunday, and drove the 7ish hours down to my parent’s house.  Since then, we’ve gone through a few boxes of clothes and gear that have been stored away, done some car work, eaten some delicious food, and relaxed a bit.  We were also lucky enough to watch a lynx stroll across the hayfield outside the front window yesterday, and later walked out to one of the river bluffs to find the first crocus’ peeking out: one of my favorite events of the year!

Tomorrow we drive the remaining three hours (mostly down a gravel road) out to our “summer home” in McCarthy.  McCarthy & Kennicott are two very special towns out in Wrangell-St. Elias.  Kennicott was a copper mine in the early 1900s, and is now one of the older historic sites in Alaska, in an incredible setting.  McCarthy is three miles from Kennicott, and most folks out there during the summer live in McCarthy.  Joe works for the Wrangell Mountain Center, an educational non-profit, and I work for Kennicott Wilderness Guides, leading glacier and backcountry trips.

We also spend a fair bit of our time gardening!  We’re both pretty excited about getting our hands in the soil once we get out to McCarthy.  Between the two of us, we’ll be taking care of three different gardens, so it should keep us busy!

I’m definitely looking forward to growing lots of wonderful, fresh food this summer.  I also can’t wait to get out on the glacier and see how it’s changed!  (That can wait a lil’ while though, as I’m sure there’s still a fair bit of snow on it.)    Each summer out in McCarthy/Kennicott is different and unique in its own way, and I’m excited to see what happens this year.

Once I get out to McCarthy tomorrow, I won’t have internet access for a while, so posts will be sporadic at best.  Honestly, if I’m lucky there will probably be 1-2 posts in the next 3-4 weeks….  That makes me sad!  :-(  But I will have plenty of things to keep me busy: plenty of seeds to plant and garden beds to care for…..  I’ll miss all of you and look forward to catching up once I’ve got steady internet again!  In the meantime, enjoy spring!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to transition

  1. Shira says:

    Thank you for the gorgeous photos! A good call to skip the food if it means a treat like this🙂 Rainbows are my all time favorite and that first shot took my breath away! Good luck with everything!

  2. Have a safe trip. What great photos. That first one just takes your breath away. Oh, I didn’t even mean to repeat Shira! But it’s true.

  3. Little Sis says:

    Fabulous photos! Good luck with the transition and we look forward to your return to the digi world!

  4. Absolutely stunning photos! I mean truly… I’m [almost] speechless. Those settings are so beautiful, it’s hard to believe that they’re real places!

Leave a Reply

