vegan beet-brownie cupcakes

We move tomorrow!  It’s a little crazy that our winter in Fairbanks is already over and it’s time to move back to the Wrangells for summer, but we both feel ready for it.  More on where we’re going & doing in a couple days, but for now I’m taking a quick break from packing and cleaning to post a lovely little treat.

My dad came up to Fairbanks for a work meeting a couple weeks ago, and so was able to come by our cabin for dinner.  For dessert, I made my vegan and gluten-free chocolate beet cake with a couple changes.  I wanted to try using black beans instead of chickpeas, and found that it definitely gives a bit of a denser result.  My first bite also made me think that I could taste the beans a little bit, but I didn’t notice it after that, and neither Joe or my dad noticed any “beany” flavor.  So, black beans can be used, but I think the chickpeas work a bit better.

The second change was to make them in cupcake form!  I’ve never really caught on to the cupcake craze, but it’s true that cupcakes are just fun every once in a while.  At first I was distraught, because these puffed up, creating a rim around the outside of the muffin cup, and then the denser middle sank, creating a little “cake cup” as Joe called it.  After my initial distress, however, I realized this was perfect, because all I had to do was scoop a spoonfull of whatever filling I wanted into the cupcakes, and it looked like I was totally going for that effect!

We first ate them with some homemade raspberry rhubarb sauce, canned last fall, and then enjoyed the leftovers another night with a peanut butter honey filling, sprinkled with cocoa nibs.  The possibilities are pretty endless, really!  Anything that goes with chocolate, would be absolutely divine in these little “cake cups”.

Instead of typing out the cake recipe, I’m just giving you the link, and then getting back to packing.  Lots still to do today!

For cupcakes: fill muffin tins very full with cake batter.  Bake at 325 degrees for 35-50 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the middle of a cupcake comes out almost clean.  Cool completely before removing from muffin tins.  Fill cups with anything you like!!!

Enjoy!!!🙂

This entry was posted in beans, brownies, cakes, chocolate, dairy-free, desserts, fruit, gluten-free, refined sugar-free, vegan, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to vegan beet-brownie cupcakes

  1. Shira says:

    These look and sound so moist and satisfying! Best of luck on your move – thanks for another reminder that I need to get in on the cupcake action!🙂 xo!

  2. Good luck with the move! these sound great. I’ve never thought about making brownie cupcakes, good idea. I’ve not made cupcakes for ages, but I have a couple of ideas brewing.

  3. mizrhi says:

    Hey sweetie.

    These look sensational. I just roasted some beets yesterday.

    I popped by to let you know I wrote a post for you the other day. I’m not sure if you saw it or not. http://mizrhi.wordpress.com/2012/04/21/fruitos/ – our chat the other day really struck a chord with me.

    Blessings!
    Rhi

  4. Lesley says:

    I have made beet brownies before and you would never know they were in the mix! Love it!

Leave a Reply

