teff pancakes with cashew cream

When I first noticed this idea in a cookbook, I just stared at the picture, thinking “really?”.  It seemed like a slightly strange idea, using miniature pancakes with a topping for a savory appetizer….  Why not just use crackers?  But, I love the cookbook, and really respect the food ideology of the woman who wrote it, so I figured they couldn’t be that bad.

Then, while Joe & I were contemplating what to make for Easter, I kept coming back to this recipe.  I wanted to try making gravlox (more on that in the next post!), and these seemed like they would be a great accompaniment.  So we finally settled on the little pancakes with their cashew cream, albeit a bit nervous about whether our hand-crank food processor would really be able to create cashew cream.

Thankfully, it was!  Maybe not entirely as smooth as electricity would provide, but close enough.  These also surpassed all of my expectations.  They were pretty tasty on their own, but once you added the gravlox to the picture?  Unbelievably delicious.  I can’t wait for an excuse to make them again!  (The only reason I’m waiting is that, unfortunately, raw cashews and teff flour are both kinda spendy.  This was a splurge, but certain a worthwhile one.)

The recipes, revised slightly, are from Jennifer Katzinger’s Gluten-Free and Vegan Holidays, which is a beautiful little book.  When I found her first book, I was so excited by the fact that she had vegan baked goods, but, like me, avoided using soy products or refined sweeteners.  Her two cookbooks are great resources; I love them!

Teff Pancakes with Cashew Cream
makes about 24

Cashew Cream:
1 1/2 cups raw cashews, soaked in water for at least 8 hours, then drained
about 6 Tbsp lemon juice (1 large lemon did it for me)
2 Tbsp chopped fresh dill
1/4 cup water
sea salt and freshly ground pepper

Teff Pancakes:
1/2 cup brown rice flour
1 cup teff flour
1 Tbsp olive oil
1/2 tsp sea salt
1/2 tsp poppy seeds
1/2 tsp ground coriander
1 cup water
small fresh dill sprigs, for garnish

To make the cashew cream, combine the cashews, lemon juice, dill and water in a blender or food processor and process until the cream is smooth.  Season to taste with salt and pepper.  Set aside or chill overnight.

To make the pancakes, whisk all the ingredients together in a large mixing bowl.  Heat a cast-iron skillet lightly greased with coconut oil over medium heat.  Drop tablespoon size portions of batter and fry the pancakes for about 3 minutes per side, or until slightly firm.  Keep the cooked pancakes warm in the oven, or wrapped in a towel on the back of the stove, while you cook the remaining batter.

To serve, place a dollop of cashew cream on each pancake, and garnish with a sprig of dill.  Serve with gravlox, if you eat fish.

Enjoy!!!

This entry was posted in breads, dairy-free, entrees, fish & seafood, gluten-free, refined sugar-free, sides, vegan, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to teff pancakes with cashew cream

  1. Shira says:

    Oooooh – these look incredible! Gorgeous! Wonderful recipe – thanks!

  2. Little Sis says:

    Wow. Lovely. I’ve never used teff. Does the flavor or texture resemble the Eithiopian bread I love so much?

    • thanks! The flavor is similar to injera (without the sour factor), but the texture is totally different, not spongey since it’s not fermented, and the batter is quite a bit thicker than injera. So the texture is more of a normal pancake, but they definitely have a delicious unique flavor. Teff is a great flour! I’ve only used it in these pancakes and injera but I’d love to try doing more with it….

      • Little Sis says:

        I am now desperate for Eithiopian food, which is a problem where I live.😉 Yours look fab so maybe I can scratch the itch at least a little. Thanks so much for sharing!

      • oh no! I understand though; I don’t think there’s anywhere to buy Ethiopian food in the whole state of Alaska! so I just have to make it myself…. which I do recommend!!!

  3. Those look great Raga – lovely little appetisers! You make some really interesting types of food, I love it😀

  4. Eileen says:

    These do sound just amazing–obviously an excellent change from the typical blini-sour cream-caviar situation. (Since we all clearly have plenty of caviar kicking around the pantry at all times, right? Right?) I’ve never baked with teff flour, but maybe I should give it a try!

    • It’s true, I’ve always got plenty of cavier on hand….. Errr, maybe not!😉 The teff flour was really great in these; it’s really nutritious and a nice change of pace! Thanks for stopping by!

  5. How exicting! I have a bag of teff flour that I feared had taken up permanent residence in my pantry, because I just can’t figure out a single way to use it. At last, I have a good reason to bust it out! Thanks for sharing the recipe.🙂

    • hurrah! Glad it’s given you an idea!🙂 This was such a yummy use for teff; I haven’t used teff in anything else besides injera, but I’d love to try some other recipes with it…

      Thanks for stopping by!

  6. Pingback: gravlox (cured salmon) | the ragamuffin diaries

Leave a Reply

