a deviled egg (for amy)

I love all the hard-boiled eggs that come with Easter. As a kid, we’d always get together with cousins after church for a big family dinner and, later on, an Easter egg hunt. It wasn’t till much later in life that I learned our Easter egg hunt wasn’t the typical type. No plastic eggs filled with candy for us, no, we used the actual eggs.

Each family had dozens of eggs (there were 6 kids in both families; that adds up to a lot of eggs if you wanna be able to find more than 2!) which they’d hard-boiled and decorated the week before. Our dads would go outside and hide the eggs, and we’d be sent out to find them, often leaking their lovely colors into the surrounding snow, unless it was a real lucky Easter and the snow was already gone! It was great fun, and I had no idea I was missing out on an excessive waste of colored plastic and an overdose of refined sugar. Perfect!

This Easter we still had plenty of snow, but, I was thrilled to find some pussy willows starting to grow. It’s so exciting to see a sign of life even though there’s still a couple feet of snow on the ground! Our days are warming up to 45-50 degrees now, which is wonderful. Spring is such an exciting time! Now I just can’t wait for the snow to be gone so I can get my hands in some soil….🙂

Anyways, the great thing about so many Easter eggs for the annual hunt, was yes, the hard-boiled eggs that we would be eating non-stop for the next week or so. Egg salad, deviled eggs, even a couple random casseroles – there were many ways to use them up! My favorite though, is a deviled egg. So good, so simple. I don’t know where the idea came from, or where the name came from, but I know they’re great.

Joe’s not a big fan of eggs on their own. I can use them in baking, but he won’t eat an egg. So this year I made “small-scale” deviled eggs. So simple, so good! I hard-boiled 4 eggs, and have been making deviled eggs one at a time. It’s kinda fun that way. And it meant this post could be dedicated to my sister Amy, who wants to see some single-serving recipes on my blog. Granted, this is more of a “method” than a recipe, but close enough.

I’m sure everyone has different “favorite” ways of making their deviled eggs. My mom always used a bit of horseradish in hers, and I’m a firm believer that it is essential to making a good deviled egg. I also played around a bit this year, since I have no mayonnaise, and wasn’t about to go buy any. I used homemade yogurt instead! A lil, different, but worked fine.

Deviled Egg for One
(can be increased by as much as you like!!)

1 egg, hard-boiled
1-2 tsp plain yogurt, or some mayonnaise
lil’ bit of horseradish, to taste
garlic powder
dill, fresh or dried
salt & pepper
paprika

Peel and cut the egg in half, scoop the yolk out and place in a bowl. Combine with the yogurt and horseradish, mixing to get the right consistency. When smooth, sprinkle in a lil’ garlic powder, dill, salt and pepper. Mix well. Spoon back into the egg whites, and sprinkle with paprika.

Enjoy!!!🙂

This entry was posted in breakfast & brunch, gluten-free, refined sugar-free, sides, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to a deviled egg (for amy)

  1. Oh yes, they look very nice, Raga! I need to get round to deviling my eggs!

  2. They look great. We love horseradish in ours too.

Leave a Reply

