chocolate orange cookies

A few weeks ago, I decided I wanted to make cookies.  Not for any special reason, I just wanted to bake, and cookies were the quick, easy & delicious option!  When I mentioned this inclination, Joe quickly declared that he had no problem with that, and rather encouraged it.  So I mixed up some cookie dough, turned on the oven, and shortly realized “Oh.  Aaaaaand we’re out of propane.”  So, the cookies were shaped and stuck outside to freeze until the propane tank was refilled, and we switched dinner plans to cooking potato foil packets in the woodstove.

Joe & I had Master Gardener class that evening, so we planned to get propane before class.  However, one other factor was decidedly not in our favor: the new 20 inches or so of snow covering our driveway, which hadn’t been plowed all winter.  My wonderful little AWD ’91 Honda Civic had been amazing all winter, making it nimbly in and out of the driveway each time the snow pack was added to, but this new, wet, soft snow turned out to be more than she could handle.  About halfway out the driveway, we were stuck.  Thankfully one of our neighbors showed up, and after some shoveling and pushing from the neighbor and Joe, the little car was freed.

We made it to class in time, but didn’t have time to get the propane.  The next morning we cooked our oatmeal and made tea over the woodstove, which worked just beautifully, before heading out later in the afternoon.  Thankfully, the propane mission was successful the second time around, and I quickly slid a sheet of cookies into the oven once we got home.

I wanted to share some cookies with the neighbor, as a thank-you for the essential getting-un-stuck-help, but the first batch I’d made quickly disappeared when we joined some friends for dinner.  So, of course, I had to make another batch, and, since I seem to have issues with making the same thing twice, I decided to revamp my recipe, and am glad I did!

Organic oranges had been on sale that week, so I was kinda leaning in the chocolate/orange direction.  It is such a wonderful combination, isn’t it?  I’d also seen a recent cookie recipe that used chickpeas, and since I love hiding beans in my baked goods, I was definitely ready to give that a go!

The results were wonderful; a lil’ bit on the cakey/brownie side of things, but I had no problem with that.  Their flavor was perfect: deep chocolate with a compliment of orange.  You could even increase the orange peel a lil’ bit if you wanted.  We didn’t notice the chickpeas at all, and felt very good about eating a cookie with such a nice dose of healthy protein!  Also, these cookies only have about 4-5 grams of sugar each, which is another reason to justify the indulgence!

Now I want to make cookies again….  Oh no!

Chocolate Orange Cookies
makes about 30

1 cup cooked chickpeas, drained & rinsed
1/2 cup coconut oil, melted (or grass-fed butter)
1/2 cup honey (or maple syrup)
2 eggs, from happy chickens! (Or 1/4 cup lukewarm water and 2 Tbsp ground flax seeds)
1 tsp vanilla
3 Tbsp grated orange peel, from organic oranges
1 2/3 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup chocolate chips (dairy-free, if needed!)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Oil a couple baking sheets.

In a food processor or blender, combine the chickpeas, coconut oil, honey, eggs, vanilla and orange peel until smooth.  In a smaller bowl, combine the flour, cocoa powder, baking soda and salt.  Add the the chickpea mixture and mix thoroughly.  Stir in the chocolate chips.

Drop by rounded teaspoonfuls onto prepared baking sheet, flattening slightly.  Bake for 12-16 minutes, and remove to wire racks to cool completely.

Enjoy!!!!🙂

This entry was posted in beans, chocolate, cookies, dairy-free, desserts, fruit, refined sugar-free, vegan, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to chocolate orange cookies

  1. Shira says:

    These look just great! I love the idea of the chickpeas in cookies – I might just try these out! Thanks!

  2. emmycooks says:

    This sounds like a feel-good AND taste-good recipe. I love the combination of chocolate and orange.

  3. Lilly Sue says:

    These look scrumptious!! Your story was great…so determined to get those cookies baked! I haven’t heard the chickpea trick but what a great idea. I love chickpeas.

  4. OH man these look great! I love fruit and chocolate, especially orange! I’ve made an attempt with chickpeas and desserts before, however, only to create a bean-tasting cookie. This recipe will have to be my second shot! Thanks for sharing!
    Bette Jane

    • Thanks!!! I hope they work out for you; I’ve had pretty good luck with chickpeas in cookies and cakes. I’ve made black bean brownies as well, which were pretty good, but had a lil’ bit of that bean flavor. Chickpeas seem to be the best for using in baking!

      Thanks for stopping by ragamuffinDiaries!🙂

Leave a Reply

