saint patrick’s day, part 2: apple potato cake

One of the cookbooks I’d borrowed from the library a while ago was all about potato recipes.  I had fun reading through it and getting a few ideas, but hadn’t actually copied any of the recipes out.  As I was considering a dessert to make for Saint Patrick’s Day, I felt like I remembered an apple dessert that had some kind of potato crust from that cookbook.  A google search had resulted in many “Irish Apple Cake” recipes of all different sorts, but when I added “potato” to my search, I was rewarded with two similar recipes, both of which sounded a fair bit like the one I remembered reading.

So that is what  I made!  You can’t get much more simple and homey than this “cake”, which really seemed more like a pie.  It was the closest thing to an apple pie I’ve ever made, and quite a bit healthier than any I’ve tasted!  The potato flavor in the crust does stand out a lil’ bit, so if that doesn’t interest you as much, cut the potatoes down by a cup or so, and increase the flour by the same amount.  It’s a pretty basic and flexible dough, and will turn out great either way!

Since I felt like it was a total cooking experiment, I decided to try it without any added sweetener to the filling.  Joe & I both decided, though, on tasting that it needed a bit, so we drizzled our slices with some maple syrup.  In the recipe here, I’ve recommended drizzling the apples with maple syrup or honey before covering with the top layer of dough.  You’re totally in charge of how much you want to use!  You could also just serve it with a drizzle over each slice, like we did.

This cake would totally be delicious for breakfast.  It’s much healthier than many of the coffeecakes people serve.  With this, you’re basically getting a nice attractive serving of potatoes & apples!

Apple Potato Cake
serves about 8

1/4 cup butter, palm fruit shortening, or coconut oil (I used shortening this time)
2/3-1 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking powder
2 1/2 cups mashed potatoes (I didn’t peel mine, since most of the nutrients are right below the peel, but you could if that’s your preference)
2 organic apples, thinly sliced
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp cloves
2 Tbsp ghee, butter, or coconut oil, melted
Honey or maple syrup

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Cut butter/shortening/oil into the flour until it resembles coarse crumbs.  Add salt and baking soda and mix well.  Stir in the potatoes, adding more flour if needed.  Knead for a few minutes.  Divide dough in half, and roll r pat into 2 rounds of equal size, just over 1/2 inch thick.  Place one circle of dough on a bakestone.

Arrange the thinly sliced apples over the circle of dough, sprinkling the cinnamon and cloves over layers occasionally.  Drizzle with the ghee/butter/oil, and then drizzle with a bit of honey or maple syrup.  Cover with the second circle of dough and pinch the edges to seal.  Cut a few slits in the top crust.  Bake until brown underneath, about 20-30 minutes.  Cool slightly before serving.

 

Enjoy!!!!🙂

 

This entry was posted in breads, breakfast & brunch, cakes, dairy-free, desserts, fruit, refined sugar-free, vegan, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to saint patrick’s day, part 2: apple potato cake

  1. Shira says:

    Looks delicious! Love the whole wheat flour (reminds me of my mom’s apple pie) – and I am thinking breakfast with some tart plain yoghurt!

Leave a Reply

