sourdough chocolate muffins

Joe & I are currently taking a Master Gardener class here in Fairbanks; even though I’m still a bit of a beginning gardener, I figured I may as well take the class with Joe & learn what I could!  It’s been really interesting so far, and has succeding in making me very impatient to get my hands in the soil!  Monday was our turn to bring the ever-important-snacks for the class, and so over the weekend I happily brainstormed what I felt like cooking.

Muffins seemed like a good direction to go in, and I’d been wanting to try a chocolate sourdough concoction for a while.  These muffins were so simple!  The sourdough factor adds a great taste element, and makes it so easy to mix up the muffins the night before, add a couple ingredients in the morning and cook them nice and quickly, meaning they’d be great for breakfast.

These are light on sweetness, so if you really like your chocolatey things sweet, you may want to increase the amount of honey.  After our first taste, Joe & I both liked them, but we were a bit unsure about how the rest of our class would feel about them.  The chocolate/sourdough combo, with mild-sweetness, might not be for everyone!  Folks seemed to like them though, and since I had a recipe request, I wanted to make sure to post it quickly.

I sprinkled a few of these with cocoa nibs, and then decided they made the muffins look like a moon-scape.  I’m sure that the nibs, or some chocolate chips, would be delicious mixed into the muffins!  As they are though, they’re simple and delicious.  My only regret is that I didn’t get better pictures…. Oh well! 🙂

Sourdough Chocolate Muffins
makes 20-24, depending on size

Combine the night before:
1 cup sourdough starter
2 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
1 cup coconut milk (or regular cow/goat milk, if you can/do drink it!)

Add the next morning:
3/4 cup cocoa powder
3/4 cup honey (more if you want them sweeter)
1 1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 cup coconut oil (or butter), melted
1 Tbsp vanilla
1 Tbsp cinnamon
1 tsp salt
2 eggs

The night before you want to make muffins, combine the sourdough starter, flour, and coconut milk.  The mixture will be thick! (If too thick, you could add the melted coconut oil now as well.)  Let sit for 8-24 hours.  Mine sat for about 8 hours; more time will make them more sour.

The next morning (or whenever you’re making muffins!), add the remaining ingredients to the batter.  The batter will be viscous, very different from normal muffin batter; this is because of the fermentation. Stir until everything is combined.  Spoon into oiled muffin tins, and bake at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the middle of one comes out clean.  Cool in pans for 5 minutes before removing to a wire rack to cool completely.

Enjoy!!!🙂

This entry was posted in breads, breakfast & brunch, chocolate, dairy-free, refined sugar-free, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to sourdough chocolate muffins

  1. Those look wonderful and I love the idea of sourdough in muffins.

  2. What a wonderful recipe, Ragamuffin. Really very interesting. I’ve never heard of a sourdough muffin – I want!

    • Thank you! Recently I’ve been a bit obsessed with using sourdough in as many things as possible. Once you have a sourdough going, it’s sooo much fun to experiment with different ways to use it!

  3. Shira says:

    These look so extremely good! I am a total ‘newb’ when it comes to starters and anything to do with sourdough (I’ve always outsourced as I eat bread so rarely – and years in the kitchen and still no skills in this area)! But these look really delicious and anything to do with chocolate really….yum, I might just take a stab at these!

  4. Renee says:

    I’ve never tried a sourdough muffin before – these look delicious! Have fun in your gardening class!

  5. heyjessierae says:

    Hi there. The ingredients call for the coconut oil to be added to the first mixture and sit overnight, but the second half of the directions call for the coconut oil to be added the next morning. Which is it? Thanks so much!🙂

  6. Jennie says:

    These didn’t turn out for me at all…I shoulda known to trust my instincts and not premixed the flour with the starter & milk. Muffin mix typically requires premixing the dry and wet ingredients separately and then combining them in one step to avoid overmixing. With these instructions, I ended up with little pieces of dough that would not mix well with the remaining wet ingredients, despite vigorous stirring and crushing in futile attempt to break them up. I ended up with chewy bits of white dough in the muffins. My attempt to use up 1/2 cup of leftover starter ended up with a much bigger waste of an entire batch of muffins. Disappointed😦

    • So sorry these didn’t turn out for you! Admittedly, sourdough muffins are a definite departure from regular muffin recipes. Mixing the flour with the starter creates an entirely different textured wet product, but that fermentation of the flour is what sourdough is all about, and where the health benefits come from. It definitely requires more mixing than a regular muffin batter, but I’ve never had an unreasonable experience with incorporating the ingredients.

      I make quite a few different types of sourdough muffins, all similar to this recipe. Most of the time I reserve some of the flour to help mix the other dry ingredients into the sponge the next day, but in this recipe I let the cocoa powder play that role. Sorry it didn’t work for you!!

Leave a Reply

