whole wheat sourdough pizza crust

Sourdough this, sourdough that – it seems like just about anything that contains yeast (& even the non-yeasted breads!), Joe & I are trying the sourdough version of.  There are the sourdough crackers, of course all the weekly sourdough pancakes, then there’s sourdough biscuits, sourdough cornbread, sourdough pizza crust, and even an experiment with sourdough naan!   We love our sourdough starter (named Sweet Willy Montana, incase you haven’t met him yet), and have had lots of fun incorporating him into as many breads as possible.

Homemade pizza had been on my “to-do” list for a while.  I had a bit of pork sausage, from a local farm in Kenny Lake, that makes an excellent pizza topping, and was just waiting on one thing to push me into pizza-making action: cheese.  Since getting local raw milk and eggs here in Fairbanks, and deciding to avoid factory-farmed foods, I haven’t bought any supermarket dairy products this year, which has meant, yes, no cheese.

Now I’ll save all the ins-and-outs of this exciting new development of my kitchen adventures, but I have now made two batches of my own cheese!  It’s pretty exciting.  The first one, which we used on this pizza, didn’t turn out exactly as planned, but I didn’t really know what I was doing either, and it was a first venture, so I didn’t mind.  This week, I made a batch of feta, which is still curing in the salt, but lookin’ pretty good!

So, all that being said, we finally got around to making our pizza last week.  The sourdough pizza crust was a total winner.  Joe was a little concerned about whether or not it would have too strong a flavor, but it didn’t at all.  It had a wonderful, mild sourdough flavor that complimented the rest of the pizza extremely well.  Highly recommended!  Overall, the pizza was pretty mind-blowing (besides being pretty affordable and easy!).  We’re already scheming up another pizza making venture in the near future.

We have yet to outfit our lil’ kitchen with a pizza stone (but it sure is on the wishlist!), so we made our pizza on a regular baking pan, but you could also use this amount of crust to make two round pizzas.  (Oh, and yes, Joe did make the crust.  I made the sauce & the cheese.  But I thought two posts in a row might overwhelm Joe; he’s new to this bloggin’ thing. ;-))

Sourdough Pizza Crust

about 2 cups active sourdough starter
3 Tbsp olive oil
1/2 c lukewarm water
2 1/2 -3 1/2 c whole wheat flour (we actually used 1 cup rye flour in our mix)
1 Tbsp dried rosemary, optional
1 tsp garlic powder, optional
2 tsp salt

Mix together the sourdough starter, olive oil, flour (holding aside about 2 Tbsp), water, and optional spices.  Cover and let rise in a warm place until almost doubled inside, about 4-5 hours.

When ready to make pizza crust, preheat oven to 450 degrees.  Combine the reserved 2 Tbsp flour with the salt and knead into the bread (salt slows down the sourdough starter, so it’s better to add it later).  Roll out your pizza crust, place on baking sheet and poke with fork.  Pre-cook for about 10 minutes, or until lightly done.  Add desired toppings and bake 15-25 minutes more, or until all is heated through and cheese (if using) is melted.

Enjoy!!!🙂

This entry was posted in breads, dairy-free, entrees, refined sugar-free, vegan, vegetables, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to whole wheat sourdough pizza crust

  1. Shira says:

    Looks yum! Funny we just had homemade pizza tonight. Despite all I do in the kitchen (reasonably) well, pizza dough totally eludes me. I still buy it from the Italian Deli! This looks great – well done!

    • thank you! I love homemade pizza, but I haven’t made my own pizza dough yet; my mom always made amazing crust, and now Joe does the same, so I just help take care of everything else and let me take care of the dough!

  2. Wow, that looks wonderful. Love how colorful the pizza is!

Leave a Reply

