ragamuffin diaries turns one!

Hurray!  Today’s the day that Ragamuffin Diaries turns one year old!  There is a special cake baking away in the oven at this moment, which will be enjoyed in celebration tonight and posted about in a couple days, but since I didn’t want to worry about writing a recipe post today, I just thought I’d share a few favorite recipes from the past year.

First, though, I want to thank everyone who has made being a part of the food-blogging community such a wonderful experience.  Thank you for coming by and reading posts, leaving comments, and trying my recipes.  I began Ragamuffin Diaries because I wanted to be able to share my food & recipes with people, even if I couldn’t do that by taking them a plate of cookies or inviting them over for a meal.  Through blogging, I’ve gained a much greater sense of how communal food is.  People love to connect over splendidly prepared and presented food, even when we’re talking about people halfway around the world responding to a mouth-watering picture or a striking description.  I love this about the food blogging community.  Thank you all for making this such a great experience!

Since Ragamuffin Diaries began with a muffin recipe (lovely banana ginger chocolate muffins), I thought it was appropriate to include my favorite muffin recipe in this round-up.  These  banana carrot muffins are incredible in both their healthiness and tastiness.  Made with soaked whole grains and sweetened with just a lil’ maple syrup to compliment the natural sweetness of the carrots and bananas, these vegan muffins are definite winners.  Plus, they remind me of the first day of our amazing drive from New Orleans to Alaska, since they were our primary road food!

 

These vegan enchiladas with avocado sauce were just hopelessly good!  I had to include them here, partially because their avocado cilantro sauce accompaniment is just one of my favorite things in the world, but also because the wonderful flavor of the whole meal, with so many homemade elements, was unbeatable.  I loved my mom’s enchiladas growing up (and still do!), and if you’d told me I’d be just as satisfied with these meatless enchiladas, I would’ve been highly skeptical.  But this vegan version would satisfy just about anyone (except maybe my dad….)!

Then there’s just an incredible, all around favorite food experience.  That goes, hands-down, to the ginger sesame halibut with asian cabbage salad & soba above.  Besides the fact that the meal was mind-blowing, the setting was even more so.  Joe & I had hiked out to a nice open area up the mountain from Kennicott to camp for the night (and get away from crazy work schedules!).  On the hike up, we noticed a rainbow forming, and as we got to the top, it was a gorgeous full arch over the mountains in front of us.  We set up camp, cooked our little feast, and basked in the glorious summer evening.

This recipe has been the “favorite” post here on the blog.  My most searched for and most viewed recipe has been, hands-down, my vegan chocolate beet cake.  Which is understandable, because it’s delicious!  I hadn’t made it in a while, and was a lil’ shocked, while looking at the recipe, to see that I used refined sugar in it.  Now, Joe & I don’t even have refined sugar in our cabin, and it was a good reminder that you can make big dietary changes pretty easily by continually taking small steps; I started out by just reducing the amounts of refined sugar I used, and now I don’t use it at all.  I guess I’m gonna have to play around with a refined sugar-free version of this cake; it needs better pictures anyways! (and really, I’ll take an excuse to make it again…! )

And now for my personal favorite, the vegan & gluten-free salted chocolate peanut butter fudge cake.  I just love, love, love this cake!  I love the fact that it’s vegan & gluten-free, so available even to people with restrictive diets.  I love the fact that it’s made with healthy chickpeas.  I love the fact that it’s a delectably rich combination of two of the best flavors around: chocolate & peanut butter.  I also love the depth of flavor that comes from adding the flake salt.  My first version of this cake came into being for my birthday back in September, and I refined it to it’s current state in December.  I wouldn’t change anything now.  I love it!

So there’s a lil’ round-up of my favorite Ragamuffin Diaries “memories” from this last year.  I’ve certainly enjoyed every bit of the experience; thank you all for being a part of it!  🙂

 

This entry was posted in Backcountry, beans, breads, breakfast & brunch, cakes, chocolate, dairy-free, desserts, entrees, fish & seafood, fruit, gluten-free, refined sugar-free, vegan, vegetables, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to ragamuffin diaries turns one!

  1. trialsinfood says:

    everything looks delicious! happy first birthday to ragamuffin diaries!

  2. Congrats! There are so many awesome blogs that started roughly when I did. It was a good period for food blogs😀. Loving your posts – long may they continue! Thanks for the support you’ve given me and I shall endeavour to continue doing so for you🙂

  3. Happy blogday! I enjoy coming here and reading about your adventures inside and outside the kitchen.

  4. Grace Dickinson says:

    Happy one year anniversary! That’s definitely exciting. Those recipes all sound great. The enchilada with that creamy guac. sauce is particularly enticing!

Leave a Reply

