garlic roasted brussel sprouts

Simple is good.  In fact, simple is wonderful.  Simple does not mean boring or tasteless, and it doesn’t have to be a last resort when all else fails.  When done well, a simple meal can be every bit as good as an elaborate one.  I know this – one of our favorite meals is mashed potatoes, homemade sauerkraut, and a jar of salmon or caribou that we canned, so simple and so satisfying! -, but sometimes I forget about it in the context of Ragamuffin Diaries.

It’s easy for me to get caught up in trying to make things that are always new and exciting, which usually means at least somewhat complicated.  So here’s a recipe that’s simple.  And simply delicious as well.

I had never really experienced brussel sprouts until this winter.  I think it’s possible I may have eaten them sometime in my childhood, but I don’t remember it if I did.  What I do remember, however, is that in basically every children’s book ever written, brussel sprouts constituted one of the great horrors of the universe.  This always made me skeptical.

My first real experience with the little jewels came while in New Orleans at an outdoor market we visited.  I bought a vegetable kabob for lunch, and there were a couple brussel sprouts on it.  Skepticism surfaced, of course, but once I tried one, I was instantly impressed.  “These are good!” I immediately told Joe.  He nodded, telling me his mom loves them, but that they have to be cooked right.

I should note here, though, that Joe did not give his approval of these tiny cabbages…  I’m still kinda waiting on that in fact!  I have since heard more of his past relationship with brussel sprouts, which apparently involved plenty of refusals to eat them at childhood dinners.  These sprouts, though, Joe at least gives the “favorite way to cook brussel sprouts” badge.

Since the lil’ guys made me so curious, we steamed brussel sprouts at Christmas, and I loved them; Joe thought they were okay.  I wanted to try something different with this new vegetable I’d discovered, and so last week I roasted them.  Yum, yum, yum, YUM!  Yup, steaming is good, but roasting may be better!  Joe won’t go as far as to say he “likes” them this way, but he seemed to eat plenty of them!  (I even made him eat them two nights that week….)

You could cut back on the garlic, of course, but we love garlic.  I decided these are almost like candy, they’re really that good.

Garlic Roasted Brussel Sprouts
serves 2-3 (definitely only two when I’m included!)

1 lb fresh brussel sprouts, trimmed and halved
1 head garlic, cloves peeled and halved (if they’re big)
2-3 Tbsp Olive Oil
1 Tbsp balsamic vinegar
salt & pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.  Combine all ingredients (either in a bowl, or on your baking sheet, I did the latter – easy! no need to dirty a bowl!) and toss to mix well.  Place on a baking sheet and roast until tender and turning crispy on the outer leaves, about 20-25 minutes.

Enjoy!!!🙂

This entry was posted in dairy-free, garden, gluten-free, refined sugar-free, sides, vegan, vegetables, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to garlic roasted brussel sprouts

  1. emmycooks says:

    If you’re looking another variation to win him over you can try the shaved Brussels sprout salad on my site–sounds weird but it’s delish. And nobody recognizes the greens as Brussels sprouts.

  2. Those look great! I love this vegetable and know I’m in the minority.

Leave a Reply

