beetroot burgers

Up until a couple days ago, I did not like veggie burgers.  I just didn’t know what there was to like about them!  I’d glance at ingredient lists on the mix varieties and my face would immediately began to grimace.  Ew.  If I’m looking to eat a burger, I want a good dose of protein, not a mixture of a bunch of grains, to then eat sandwiched between more grains in the form of bread!  Besides, I never understood why they were called veggie burgers if they were full of grains and not veggies.

Then Joe mentioned to me a beet veggie burger that he’d eaten at a restaurant in Ohio – Northstar Cafe in Columbus.  He said it was pretty incredible, and I realized that somewhere on my computer I had a beetroot burger recipe that I’d found somewhere and which had aroused my curiosity.

So we decided to try ‘em out.  I took the initial recipe I’d found, and did a bit of tweaking after researching what Northstar puts in their burgers.  The results were entirely satisfying.  I actually found myself eating two burgers (in my defense, I didn’t eat bread!), and Joe ate three, affirming that they were as good as Northstar’s.  Hurrah!  These burgers do have a bit of rice in them, but also a good dose of protein from black beans, and the veggies from the beats.

We enjoyed our burgers with a simple slaw made of cabbage, carrots, green onions, cilantro, oil, vinegar, salt and pepper.  We also had some homemade ketchup that Joe made – YUM!  Why buy the stuff?  And of course some of Joe’s sourdough bread.  It was a very delicious dinner.  It’s pretty exciting being able to enjoy food where so many elements of it are homemade!

On another note, I’m hoping to get back to regular posting soon.  After Christmas break and easy wireless internet at my parents, I’ve had a hard time getting around to writing.  The dial-up we have at home isn’t fast enough to load pictures, and Fairbanks has been so cold (hanging out around 40 and 50 below zero) the past couple weeks that I haven’t wanted to venture out to the libraries to get any posts up!  Hopefully we’ll see some warmer weather soon.

Beetroot Burgers
makes enough for about 8 burgers

1/4 cup each:  sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, and cashews, all coarsely chopped
2 cups grated beetroot
1 1/2 cups cooked brown rice
2 cups cooked black beans
2 Tbsp apple cider vinegar
1 tsp salt
about 5 Tbsp olive oil
1 large onion, quartered and sliced thinly
4 cloves garlic
1 Tbsp smoked paprika
1 tsp cumin
2 Tbsp parsley
salt & pepper

In a food processor, combine beans, 1/2 cup rice, vinegar and 1 tsp salt, processing until thick.  Saute onion in about 2 Tbsp of olive oil until caramelized, adding garlic towards the end, and then adding the spices for the last 20-30 seconds or so.  Combine the bean paste, onion-spice mixture, coarsely chopped seeds & nuts, and all the remaining spices in a bowl.  Mix well.  Taste and adjust seasonings if needed.

Heat a cast iron skillet with about 3 more tablespoons of olive oil over medium high heat.  You want these to get darkly browned on each side.  Shape patties to whatever size you like, placing them in the hot pan.  Fry burgers for about 2-3 minutes on each side.  You want to eat these immediately, so if you have extra burger mix, you can refrigerate or freeze it.

Enjoy with whatever fixings you choose!! :-)

This entry was posted in beans, dairy-free, entrees, gluten-free, refined sugar-free, vegan, vegetables, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

