chocolate pumpkin truffles

This is an exciting post; it’s where I get to post pictures that were taken using my wonderful Christmas present from Joe.  Knowing that I was frustrated with using flash-pictures for my blog, Joe did a bit of research, and put together a lighting set-up for me, using a natural-spectrum light as the main component.  It’s awesome!  I haven’t played around with the whole set-up yet, but I’ve been using the light for my pictures, and it is wonderful…. Such an incredible improvement from taking flash pictures!!  Yay for Joe buying such an awesome gift!🙂

I’m at home in Kenny Lake right now for Christmastime, and Joe’s down in Ohio with his family.  Right now there’s 6 of my family at home, and the other 3 will be arriving in a few days; yeah, it’s a lot of people to get in one place!  Since my brother who’s in the Navy doesn’t make it into Alaska until the 28th, we’re having our family Christmas on the 29th.  Which, since Joe & I had our own Christmas before he left, and since we’re still having friends over on the 25th, means I get to have three different Christmases!  Gotta say, the food we had for the first one will be hard to beat; it was an impressive feast!

I mentioned this recipe when I wrote about the peanut butter bourbon balls and what inspired them – a picture of pumpkin truffles.  I still wanted to give them a try, albeit with a few adjustments, but decided to wait until I could share them with  my sister Amy, who is also a huge fan of pumpkin!  So tonight, I pulled the recipe out and we gave it a try.  We were quite happy with the results, which came together pretty simply.  Since we’ll likely be giving most of this batch away to one of my Aunts for a Christmas present, I think we just might be making a few more!

Chocolate Pumpkin Truffles
makes 15-20, depending on size

1 1/4 cup crushed graham crackers
1/2 cup ground almonds
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp allspice
1/4 tsp ginger
dash nutmeg
1/3 cup & 2 Tbsp pumpkin puree
3 Tbsp maple syrup
1-2 cups chocolate chips
1 tsp shortening

In a bowl, mix together all the ingredients except for the chocolate and shortening. When smooth, shape into balls.  We did this with a small cookie scoop that made life really easy!  Freeze the balls for about 2 hours, or until firm.

Melt the chocolate and shortening over a double boiler.  Coat each truffle with chocolate.  We did this by having one person use two spoons to cover the truffle, and the second person scooping the truffle out with a fork and tapping off any excess chocolate.  Place on waxed paper until chocolate hardens.  Store in the refrigerator in an airtight container.

Enjoy!!!🙂

This entry was posted in chocolate, dairy-free, desserts, refined sugar-free, vegan, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to chocolate pumpkin truffles

  1. mansky31 says:

    Reblogged this on qrbo and commented:
    Desert For you

  2. Those look great and I think you of all people would need a lighting set. That’s a comment on your locale, not the photography. Have a great Christmas.

Leave a Reply

