peanut butter bourbon balls

While home for Thanksgiving, I showed my mom a lovely picture for some pumpkin truffles that I wanted to try making.  However, I ended up making something entirely different as soon as she said, “what are those? Peanut butter bourbon balls?”  Joe and I looked at each other with raised eyebrows,  “Uhh, no,” I responded, “but that sounds like it might be an even yummier idea!”  Joe nodded his agreement.  So the wheels were turning, and I shifted gears to look for new recipe ideas.

And so, the pumpkin truffles have yet to be made, but the peanut butter bourbon balls have already been made twice, devoured with very approving satisfaction both times.  In researching a few recipes, I came across a few “buckeye” ones, which I then asked Joe about, thinking there was an Ohio association; there was (is), and so I thought even more that these would be a good thing to make.  As you can see in the pictures, we made a few like classic buckeyes, albeit a bit messy!, and a few completely covered in chocolate.  Delicious either way!

Peanut Butter Bourbon Balls
makes 15-20, depending on size

1/2 cup natural peanut butter  (I used crunchy, smooth would work as well)
2 Tbsp coconut oil
1 Tbsp honey
1/3 cup graham cracker crumbs
1/4 tsp vanilla
2-3 Tbsp bourbon, depending on your preference
4 oz good quality dark chocolate (I used 85% cacao…. yummmm….)

In a small pan, gently melt the coconut oil.  Combine with the peanut butter and honey, mixing until smooth.  Add the graham cracker crumbs, vanilla and bourbon and stir until combined.  Chill the dough until easy to handle, about 30 minutes for me.  When chilled, shape into balls; you could go bigger or smaller depending on what you’re looking for.  If the bourbon flavor is really strong, it may be better to go smaller!  Then freeze the balls until hard.

Meanwhile, melt your chocolate in the top of a double boiler (or simply use a bowl set over a pot of boiling water, like I did).  Working relatively quickly, dip each ball in chocolate.  Joe discovered that the easiest way to create the buckeye look is with two spoons, spooning the chocolate up over the sides, but experiment and see what works for you!  You can also, of course, totally cover them in chocolate.  (More chocolate couldn’t be a bad thing, could it?)  Then freeze again and eat when chocolate is hardened!  These should be kept in the freezer and are best enjoyed while still frozen.

Enjoy!!!🙂

This entry was posted in chocolate, dairy-free, desserts, refined sugar-free, Uncategorized, vegan, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to peanut butter bourbon balls

  1. Interesting idea! I love anything with peanut butter, so I’m sure these would be great.

  2. Isn’t it funny where we get some ideas. These look great.

  3. I grew up in Ohio. We had buckeyes every Christmas!

Leave a Reply

