honey ginger bites

I’m on a bit of a quest this year to use as little refined sugar in my Christmas cookies as possible.  So far, I’ve had two successful trials.  I have at least five more planned, so hopefully things continue to go well!  I know that if I was going to really be healthy, I just wouldn’t be making these cookies at all, but I just love the Christmas cookie season so much that this is my little compromise.

Sunday commenced the cookie season.  Joe & I were supposed to go to a training in the evening, but a warm winter storm decided to blow through most of Alaska, and the resulting frighteningly icy roads caused our training to be cancelled.  So what to do instead?  Make cookies!!!  I chose one of my recipes that I had all the ingredients on hand for, and starting cooking.

Then, the big surprise.  I asked Joe if he wanted to help me, and he responded, slowly, “no thanks, I’m not really a fan of Christmas cookies.”  “WHAT?!”,  I dropped my spoon and faced him, “You don’t like Christmas cookies?  What’s wrong with you?  Are you Scrooge?”  Taking my outrage calmly, Joe further explained that most of the time he can’t eat them anyways, since they usually have dairy in them, and they’re usually just sugar cookies with frosting, so what’s to get so excited about?  Okay, okay, I conceded, I suppose that’s an acceptable reason to say such a blasphemous thing, BUT, I was going to make sure he liked Christmas cookies this year!

So far I’ve been successful!  As Joe & I continued to nibble on these ‘bites’ throughout the evening, we justified it by the fact that they’re so small….  It would take about 8 to equal one ‘normal’ cookie, right?  Perfect.  I made one batch, then made another.  For the first batch I used 1/2 white flour and 1/2 wheat, and the second time around used all wheat flour.  They turned out so similar that I think I’ll just use the wheat flour next time!

Honey Ginger Bites
makes 240 tiny cookies

1/3 cup plus 2 Tbsp honey
1/3 cup coconut oil
2 cups whole wheat flour (or white, if you wanted….)
1/4 cup finely chopped crystallized ginger
1/4 tsp ground ginger
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp ground white pepper
1 egg, lightly beaten

Combine honey and coconut oil in small pan.  Heat gently until coconut oil is melted.  Cool to room temperature.

Stir together flour, crystallized ginger, baking soda, white pepper, and ground ginger.  Add egg to honey mixture, and then gradually add the wet ingredients to the dry.  It gets a little hard to stir here, and you may need to knead a little bit to get all the flour incorporated, but I was able to just stir.  Cover dough and chill for about an hour, or until easy to handle.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Divide dough into 12 portions.  Roll each one into a 10 inch rope, and cut into 1/2 inch pieces.  Place on an ungreased baking sheet.  Bake for 6-8 minutes or until lightly browned.

Enjoy!!🙂

This entry was posted in cookies, dairy-free, refined sugar-free and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to honey ginger bites

  1. We reduce sugar in a lot of desserts, although not cookies as much as cakes and things like that. I need to do this.

  2. Sundryandco says:

    Really like the sound of this recipe (I found it quite difficult to find a sugarfree version) and the photos of the biscuits look…delicious! I’m a rookie baker, but will be giving these a try. I’ll update you with the results🙂

    I don’t have white pepper, coconut oil or crystallised ginger at the moment – do I have to include an oil in this recipe or can it do without it? Or perhaps I can substitute the oil with something else? How much ground ginger would you suggest where crystallised is not available?

    • Hey; thanks for the comment!! I think you will want some kind of oil in the recipe; palm-fruit shortening would be a good substitute, or butter would work if you aren’t worried about using dairy, otherwise olive oil or canola oil should work fine. If you have any fresh ginger you could grate a couple tablespoons of that to use in place of the crystallized ginger, or use maybe 3/4 – 1 tsp more, tasting to see when it seems like there’s enough.

      good luck, and hope they turn out well!!!!

      • sundryandco says:

        Unfortunately I put the biscuits in the oven for slightly too long and burned them to a dark brown. People seemed to enjoy them in spite of the fact that I baked them so much that we practically had to use a chisel when eating them! My teeth were sore, but it was worth it for the delicious flavour!!

        I must watch the oven closely in future!

      • oh no! these do cook pretty quickly! glad that the flavor was still good though….🙂

Leave a Reply

