red lentil dahl

I know, I know.  These aren’t the greatest pictures.  But please don’t judge the recipe too harshly because of them!  Some things are just hard to get good photos of, and a thick soupy red-ish comfort dish is one of them.  I think a garnish would’ve done wonders for these photos, but, you deal with that you’ve got.  There’s my disclaimer, and now I’ll move on!

I decided I needed to go ahead and post this recipe after talking to my sister Tiffany the other day, she was in the grocery store at the time and wondering what to buy, looking for something good and healthy.  I thought for a brief second, then exclaimed, “red lentils!”  Why?  Because they are delicious, so good for you, cook up nice and fast, and are to me, the main ingredient in this most comforting dish.  So, since I encouraged her to buy these lovely little gems, I realized I better hurry up and get her a recipe to try them in!

Joe and I cooked up a pot of this dahl on Sunday.  We’d driven all day from Kenny Lake to get back up to Fairbanks, and of course, after leaving for five days, our little cabin was frozen around -5 degrees.  Joe quickly started a fire, then we went back out to the warm car to kill a little time.  Once the cabin got to about 15 degrees, we started unloading a few things from the car, and I started cooking, hoping that would help warm the place up a bit.  It took about 1 1/2 hours to get above freezing, and once we hit about 45 degrees, we both relished warm bowls of red lentils (and a few samosas we’d frozen from our last batch!).  I think it was about the best meal we could have had for that evening!

There’s a lot of different spices in this recipe, and if you don’t have any of them, the inexpensive way to get just a bit is to check out the bulk spice section in your grocery store!  That’s the best way to increase your spice collection.  Otherwise, the recipe is pretty simple.  We enjoyed the leftovers over some hash brown potatoes the next night (one of my currently favorite things to do with potatoes!), which may sound like an odd combination – I was hesitant to try it at first – but turns out spectacularly!  It’s also great with rice or quinoa.

Red Lentil Dahl
serves 4-5

1 onion, chopped
4 cloves garlic, diced
1 Tbsp fresh ginger, grated
1 tsp salt
1 tsp red chile flakes
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp cloves
1/4 tsp cardamom
1 tsp dry mustard
1/2 tsp coriander
1/2 tsp tumeric
1/4 tsp cayanne
2 tsp cumin
1 1/2 cup red lentils
1/4 cup tomato paste
4-6 cups vegetable broth (depending on how thick you want it)
1 can diced tomatoes

Saute the onion in olive oil until golden, adding the garlic and ginger for the last couple minutes.  Add all of the spices, and, stirring constantly, cook for about a minute more.  At this point you can add the rest of the ingredients, bring to a boil, then reduce the heat and let it simmer!  Dinner’s done!  The longer you cook it, the more the lentils break down.  I like my dahl thick, so I usually let it cook for a bit, letting the flavors blend as well.

Enjoy!!🙂

 

 

This entry was posted in beans, dairy-free, entrees, gluten-free, refined sugar-free, Soups, vegan, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to red lentil dahl

Leave a Reply

