pumpkin sourdough pancakes

Yep, that’s right – I’m posting a sourdough recipe!  Back in October, following the instructions in Wild Fermentation, Joe & I got our own sourdough starter going.  It was a pretty simple process, and most likely I’ll talk a bit more about it sometime, but right now I’m focusing on one of my absolute favorite things to make with our sourdough (who we have named Sweet Willy Montana): make pumpkin sourdough pancakes.  Oh yum!

Like I said in my last post, I harbor a bit of a seasonal obsession with pumpkin.  If I can bake something orange, then I will!  And so, when November hit, our weekend breakfast of sourdough pancakes quickly became pumpkin sourdough pancakes, and I expect the repetition to continue until Christmas!  These pancakes are great.  The batter is thick, and the pancakes are substantial, but still light enough to enjoy a few.  Joe & I gobble them up with some of the frozen cranberries that we picked during the fall, which is an awesome combination, but they’d be great without berries as well.

This last weekend, these pancakes were the main event in a morning breakfast competition.  Sometime during Thanksgiving dinner, as Joe & my brother Caleb managed to keep devouring more and more food, a pancake-eating-contest was suggested.  They boys eyed each other, and then each concluded they were game.  We decided the morning after Thanksgiving was not a fair day for such a contest, so we waited until Saturday morning, and then I started making pancakes.  And pancakes.  And more pancakes.  I suppose if my mom, dad and I hadn’t eaten any, the contest may have had a more definitive outcome, but as it is, Joe & Caleb stand tied, at 14 pancakes a piece, at which point I ran out of pancake batter.

Perhaps someday there will be a rematch?  Either way, 14 pancakes is still an impressive feat!  Way to go, guys!

Pumpkin Sourdough Pancakes
serves 2-3

Sponge:
1/2 cup sourdough starter
1 cup pumpkin puree
1 1/4 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup lukewarm water

Batter:
1 egg, beaten
1 Tbsp Olive Oil
1 Tbsp molasses
1/2 tsp baking soda mixed with 1 tsp water
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp cloves
1/2 tsp ginger

The night before, combine all the ingredients for the sponge; it will be thick, but you can add a little more water if it seems to need it.  Cover and set aside in a warm place.

When ready to make the pancakes, add the remaining ingredients to the bowl and mix well!  Heat a cast iron skillet or griddle, and then make your pancakes!  I like my pancakes big, with cranberries in them and served with a little butter and maple syrup, but since everyone has different preferences on this, I’ll leave the serving up to you!

Enjoy!!🙂

This entry was posted in breads, breakfast & brunch, dairy-free, fruit, refined sugar-free, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to pumpkin sourdough pancakes

  1. You are too funny! I love that you named your starter.

  2. Ferk de Kroon says:

    WOW! These look delicious!

  3. Charles says:

    Note to self – hurry up and make a starter!

    These look great (love the starter name!) – how does using sourdough starter change the taste of the pancakes?

    • definitely make a starter! I was surprised by how easy it was… it takes a little while for the yeast to get active, but it’s a pretty simple process.

      The sourdough doesn’t change the taste very noticeably, but I think it adds a lot of depth to the flavors. When my mom tasted the pancakes, she said she couldn’t tell that they were made with sourdough, but I can definitely pick out a little sour taste that’s in there. They’re pretty yummy!

      • These look so good. I’m goin to try them tomorrow. I am substituting the eggs for flax seed meal due to an egg allergy in our family. I’m thinking I will add some ricotta to help fluff them up some. Can’t wait!

  4. Pingback: banana sourdough pancakes | the ragamuffin diaries

Leave a Reply

