steamboat surf ‘n turf

Too long, much much much too long!  Looks like this is my first August post, which means Ragamuffin Diaries has been greatly neglected lately.  Joe told me not to feel too bad, and part of me doesn’t, since I’ve spent much of the first half of this month in the backcountry, but then, part of me feels really bad.

So I’m finally back with a new recipe.  Last week I guided an incredible three day trip with a freelance writer named Jenna.  She was awesome, and we were quickly friends.  Something which turned out to be very good, since the first day of our trip was spent waiting at the air service office in McCarthy, hoping that the clouds would lift enough so that we would be able to fly.  Our 10:30 flight finally turned into a 4:00 attempt, and as we flew near the airstrip, our bush pilot with 35 years of experience flying out here, determined that the cloud cover was still too low, and we weren’t able to land.  So, we went back to McCarthy, and spent the first night of our trip there in town, hoping that the weather would improve for us the next day.

The location I’d chosen for the trip was Steamboat Hills, a spot on the Northern edge of the Chugach mountain range, which I’d read some great stuff about.  That night, as I watched an almost full moon rise above the Chugach, I was feeling pretty hopeful that the weather would be on our side for the next morning’s flight.  It was!  We woke up to gorgeous sunshine, and at 8:30 took off for our second flight, which ended with a beautiful landing this time.

To keep things simple, Steamboat Hills lived up to all of its breathtaking descriptions, the weather was incredible beyond expectation, and basically, Jenna and I had three amazing days.  This dish is something I made our last night.  While I as packing for the trip, I was doing some random online recipe searches, and saw a recipe for a ‘beef noodle bowl’ that was basically ramen noodles and shredded beef jerky.  It sounded pretty intriguing to me, so I came up with my own adaptations, and we both loved it!

While we enjoyed our dinner up in the mountains, I pondered what its name should be, and Jenna came up with the “surf ‘n turf” idea – the turf being the beef jerky and the surf being the seaweed.  Sounded good to me!  This would probably also be really yummy with soba noodles also, but the ramen cooked so fast and was really easy.

Steamboat Surf ‘n Turf
serves 2

1/2 cup beef jerky, shredded
6 ounces ramen noodles (2 packs, basically)
1 cup dried mushrooms
1/3 cup dehydrated veggies
1/3 cup wakame seaweed

Dressing:
5 tsp tahini
1 tbsp soy
2 tbsp rice vinegar
1/2 tsp honey
1/2 tsp ginger
1/2 tsp crushed red pepper
1 tbsp dried cilantro
1 tbsp sesame seeds
juice from 1/2 lime

Before Leaving:
In a gallon size ziploc bag, combine the beef jerky, ramen and mushrooms.  Put the veggies & seaweed in two separate small bags.
In a small container, combine the dressing ingredients.  I took a lime with me instead of juicing it before hand, but you could go either way.

When ready to cook:
Boil enough water to just cover the ramen, jerky and mushrooms.  I didn’t measure, but you should be able to guess pretty closely.  As soon as you start heating the water, add the dehydrated veggies, since they take a little longer to cook.  Once the water is boiling, add the ramen, jerky and mushrooms; cover.  Just before the ramen is done, add the seaweed.  A lot of the water you used should be absorbed at this point.  Add the dressing ingredients, stir well, remove from heat and serve!

Enjoy!  :-)

This entry was posted in Backcountry, dairy-free, entrees, fish & seafood and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to steamboat surf ‘n turf

  1. I’ve said it before, but you really do live in a gorgeous place.

  2. Charles says:

    Seconding Greg’s comment – that’s quite the breath-taking scenery there. Great looking meal as well to eat while out and about in such incredible nature!

Leave a Reply

