vegan curry feast pt. 2: banana fudge

I’m not too modest to say that last night I cooked an entirely incredible dinner, in an entirely beautiful place.  However, I am practicing restraint, and not sharing those recipes right now, since I need to finish what I started yesterday.  Should be coming soon though!!

For now though, the rest of that other wonderful dinner I had this week.  (Really, I think that meal on Sunday, and then last night’s, are the only two dinners I’ve cooked in a while….  I just haven’t been very motivated to make anything of late, which is probably largely due to a busy work schedule and a relatively messy shared kitchen….)

I have this beautiful cookbook that I picked up a couple years ago.  It’s The Curry Book, by Nancie McDermott.  The book is simple, no pictures, but full of lots of information, suggestions, and recipes whose titles make me start to drool.  For a large portion of the two years I’ve had this book, it has -sadly!- sat in storage, but while in Kenny Lake a couple weeks ago, I made a point to go dig it out of its box.

The dish that I chose for the main course was one she calls “Roots and Wings”.  It’s a simple combination of sweet potatoes (the roots) roasted with spices, then tossed with kale (the wings) and a light dressing.  The kale came from my garden, which was a pretty exciting thing for me, and, mhm, it was even yummier than I was expecting! However, since I copied her recipe to the letter (something I haven’t done in an extremely long time!), and so can’t claim it to be mine in any part, I’m not sharing that one here.  Her book is awesome though, if you’re interested in checking it out!

The recipe that I am going to share with you here is an equally delicious one.  I’ve debated for a while what I should call it, trying out different combinations of chocolate, peanut butter, banana, fudge, ice cream, etc., and decided to keep it simple with banana fudge.  Inspiration for this one came from Kris over at Munchin with Munchkin.  After seeing her recipe and it’s amazing combination of ingredients, I decided to put together my own combo.

The biggest change that I made was the addition of graham crackers… I needed something to hold the delicious gooey-ness together a little more, and had some on hand, so in they went!  Making this fudge was another use of the awesome veggie chopper that I mentioned in my last post…. Ah!  So many uses!  Anyways, I’ve made this a couple times already, both times differently but deliciously.  I’m sharing the second version today.  I made a small batch in a bowl, but if you double this it would probably work great in an 8-inch square pan.

Banana Fudge
serves 4-6 (depends on how much you eat!!!)

1/4 cup coconut oil
1/4 cup, plus 2 tbsp, peanut butter
1 ripe banana
2 heaping tbsp cocoa powder
1 tbsp maple syrup
1/2 tsp vanilla
2 graham crackers
pinch salt

In a food processor, or blender, or handy hand-powered kitchen chopper tool, combine all the ingredients.  Depending on the power of your blending device, you may want to crumble the graham crackers a bit first (this is what I had to do).  Process until smooth consistency.  Scrape into a medium size bowl or serving dish and chill.  If you put this in the refrigerator (what I did this time), you get a soft, fudgy consistency.  If you put it in the freezer (what I did last time), you get more of an ice cream result.  YUM either way!

Enjoy!!🙂

This entry was posted in chocolate, dairy-free, desserts, entrees, garden, vegan, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to vegan curry feast pt. 2: banana fudge

  1. erika haukaas-hardman says:

    wow beks! u are amazing…the roots and wings recipe sounds delish and the banana fudge i’ve got to try it !! love your diaries:)

  2. Thanks for sharing this recipe today! I enjoy reading your blog post very much thanks again!

Leave a Reply

