greek chicken & baby summer squash

Here’s something new: a recipe using chicken.  Which, I suppose, wouldn’t normally be considered all that unusual….  But chicken is not a common ingredient on this blog!  As I type this, I just realized that I have posted about chicken before, when I talked about gumbo and making chicken stock; sadly, the chicken in this meal did not live quite as happy a life as the chicken I used in my gumbo.

I buy chicken very rarely, because it’s almost impossible to actually get a healthy chicken that was raised humanely and with a free-range diet.  In New Orleans I was able to get a few chickens from a local farm, but don’t have such a source here in Alaska.  This dish was cooked last week while I was in Kenny Lake – I needed to cook something relatively easy for my brother, a friend, and myself, and my brother kept saying that they had lots of chicken in the freezer!  So I gave in, and cooked and ate it.  I know, it won’t be the end of the world, but I’m a little ashamed.  Sometimes we compromise though, and this was one of those days.

In Anchorage the day before, I’d bought this bag of gorgeous baby summer squash, and I was sooooo excited about using them!  I decided to go in a Greek direction, pulled out a lemon and some oregano, and went outside to pick a little bit of mint.  If there had been feta anywhere around, you would see some of that sprinkled on top!  Pretty simple little recipe, and a tasty one.  It also worked out pretty well for me after all, since my brother wasn’t at all interested in eating any of the squash, and I wasn’t all that interested in the chicken – let’s just say the balance in our two bowls was dramatically different!

Greek Chicken and Baby Summer Squash
serves 3-4

olive oil
4 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 onion, thinly sliced, or chopped
3 chicken breasts (hopefully from a better source than mine were!), cut into strips
12 ounces baby summers squash
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp pepper
juice from one lemon
2 tsp oregano
fresh mint

Heat oil in a large skillet.  Add the onion and garlic, sauteing until onions are translucent.  Add the chicken breasts, and cook until juices run clear and chicken is done.  Add the summer squash to the pan, then season with the salt, pepper and oregano.  Adjust the seasonings as needed.  Squirt the lemon juice in, and cook until the squash is just tender, this doesn’t take too long.  Top with the mint and serve!

Enjoy!! 🙂

This entry was posted in dairy-free, entrees, gluten-free, vegetables and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to greek chicken & baby summer squash

  1. Charles says:

    Ha, when I first read the title I could have sworn it said “Green chicken” and I was wondering what the heck had happened to it! Glad to see it’s regular coloured! I always try to get decently reared meat myself too – it’s quite hard with chicken, and even definitions such as “free range” don’t really mean what they should anymore thanks to law changes. Looks delicious in any case though!🙂

Leave a Reply

