rhubarb lentil soup

You never really want to wish for it to rain, or be cloudy, or cold, but then, sometimes you want to make soup….  Or maybe that’s just me.  I’d been thinking about this soup for a few days, and even though I didn’t want a cold & rainy day, I did want to make this soup!  So, when we had a cooler, cloudy evening, I jumped on it.

My good friend Robin and I were enjoying having our guide-house kitchen all to ourselves, when she inquired, “do you want to cook dinner together?”

“Yes!  Soup!  Can we make soup?  I’ve been wanting to make soup, rhubarb lentil soup, and today’s the perfect day!”  Maybe I was a little too excited…. But I had been waiting a while for the right day to come!  This recipe is based on one that I found in a Cooking Light magazine last spring.  I immediately loved the idea of using rhubarb in this untraditional way, and have been happy with this soup every time.

I’d made this soup a few times last year, but hadn’t gotten around to it yet this season, and with all of our rhubarb growing like crazy, it was time to use it!  We’ve made a few batches of rhubarb sauce and a couple rhubarb cakes, but it’s nice to also be able to use the long tart stems for something savory instead of sweet.  Robin & I got the soup going, and then were joined by Joe and our good friend Alison (who works with Joe).  Alison brought up some bok choy and kale from their garden  to share, which absolutely thrilled Robin & myself, since our garden isn’t quite at that level yet.  It was a pretty awesome dinner shared with wonderful folks!

Rhubarb Lentil Soup
makes about 6 hearty servings

2  cups boiling water
1 1/4 cup green lentils
2 carrots
4-6 stalks celery
1 onion
4 cloves garlic
2 cups rhubarb
5 cups broth
1 tsp dried dill (use fresh if you have it!)
2 tsp dried rosemary (use fresh if you have it!)
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp pepper

Pour the boiling water over the lentils and let them sit for at least 10 minutes, or up to 30.  (I usually just do this before I start chopping the veggies and go from there.)

Chop the carrots, celery, onion and garlic.  In a large saucepan, saute the carrots, celery and onion until tender; add the garlic and saute about a minute more.  Add rhubarb and saute for a couple more minutes.  Drain the lentils, then add them to the pan along with the broth, dill, rosemary, salt and pepper.  Cook until lentils are tender, about 3o minutes; the rhubarb will break up as it cooks, thickening the soup.

Enjoy!!🙂

This entry was posted in beans, dairy-free, entrees, garden, gluten-free, Soups, vegan, vegetables, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to rhubarb lentil soup

  1. It’s so hot here, and still this looks great!

  2. Charles says:

    Nice – rhubarb and lentils? I’d never have paired the two together, and using the rhubarb to thicken the soup? Great idea. I’m really curious as to what sort of result is yielded from the flavour combinations here.

  3. Len says:

    It is a vegetable, you know.

Leave a Reply

