vegan chocolate chip cookies

There is a much longer version name for these cookies.  I started out calling them “vegan peanut butter honey chocolate chip cookies,” but soon realized I just don’t like saying that many words when I’m trying to tell people what kind of cookie they’re eating!  All the details are relatively obvious anyways….  So we’re sticking with simplified.

Friday morning I drove out to Kenny Lake, where I met up with my mom, dad and sister Amy to go dipnetting in Chitina.  Unfortunately, the goal of obtaining salmon was poorly met.  After about 2 1/2 hours of having three nets in the water and only catching one fish, we decided that was enough of that and headed back to Kenny Lake.

It’s absolutely amazing how delicious that one salmon was, though!  I always forget, after a winter of eating frozen and canned salmon, how incredible it is fresh.  Mmmm…. We cooked up one fillet that night, and the other fillet will be going into some sushi this evening.  Besides the one fish, I made use of the chance for a vegetable resupply, bought a few more starts for my garden, did a load of laundry, took a real shower, aaaaaaaand used my mom’s oven to make some cookies.  So overall, a good amount was accomplished.

These are the cookies.  Today is my friend Matt’s birthday, so I thought about making a cake, but was a bit worried about how it would handle the 2 1/2 hours of gravel road getting to Kennicott.  So I browsed a few different vegan cookie recipes, compiled my own, started cooking, and pulled the last sheet out of the oven at 1 AM.  It was kind of a long day, but I’m still glad I made the cookies – they’re awesome!

These are my first vegan cookies; they’re made with whole wheat flour, and sweetened only with honey (the amount of which could probably be reduced even a bit more if you wanted).  So, while these may not be the healthiest cookies I’ve ever made, I do think they are the most delicious healthy cookies I’ve ever made!

Matt’s conclusion, in between cookie 1 & cookie 2: “Since they’re so healthy, that means you can eat more of them, right?”

Now I need to get back to packing; Joe & I are heading out into the backcountry for a few days starting either this evening or early in the morning, and this girl is not quite ready yet.  I’ll have a tasty backcountry recipe for you when I get back!

Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies
makes about 4 dozen

2 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp cardamom
1 tsp salt
2 cups regular oats (not quick cooking!)
1 1/3 cup chocolate chips (non-dairy!)
2/3 cup crunchy natural peanut butter
3/4 cup honey (you could try 2/3)
1/2 cup plus 2 Tbsp coconut milk
1/4 cup olive oil
2 tsp vanilla

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Oil a couple cookie sheets.

In a large bowl, mix together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, cardamom and salt.  Add the oats & chocolate chips.  In another bowl, stir together the remaining ingredients (all the wet stuff), and then add it into the dry ingredients.  The dough will look a little bit wetter than normal cookie dough, but it’s okay.  Scoop teaspoonfulls out onto the cookie sheet, flatten slightly, and bake for 8-10 minutes, or until just starting to brown.  Remove to wire racks to cool completely; store in an airtight container when cool.

Enjoy!!!🙂

This entry was posted in chocolate, cookies, dairy-free, desserts, vegan, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to vegan chocolate chip cookies

  1. Hanna says:

    Thank you so much for the vegan chocolate chip cookie recipe! I love ALL things VEGAN and especially Vegan baking….very close to my heart. hehehe. I can’t wait to try them!!!

  2. Charles says:

    Wow, I read “vegan” and didn’t really register it… started reading the recipe and was expecting the butter to appear, d’oh – this looks amazing and I’m not even vegan. I love cardamom – I just bought some cardamom seeds because the ground stuff always seems so less strong in flavour so I must try this out when I get them!

Leave a Reply

