apple fritters

Yep, that’s right, I’m going to post yet another apple recipe.  One would think, since it’s been so long since I last posted, that at this point I would have some new recipe to write about, but instead here’s another recipe that I cooked back in May while I was at home in Kenny Lake, with my mom’s surplus of apples.  The truth is, I haven’t cooked a whole lot since being in Kennicott.  With the combination of a shared kitchen, an unpredictable schedule and only basic ingredients, I haven’t been too motivated to try much.  There was a chipotle sweet potato soup and a rhubarb cake last week, but there are no pictures to accompany the recipes, and since that’s pretty unacceptable, those posts will have to wait.

As I started to write this post though, I realized that this is one of the recipes which I actually could make out here, since only hot oil, instead of an oven, is required.  Hmm, now the wheels are turning, because the thought of some of these treats kinda makes my mouth water!

I decided to make these on a morning when my mom was making donuts, so there was already hot oil and her whole dialed in set-up ready for me to waltz right in and experiment.  Neither of us had ever had homemade apple fritters before, so we were both curious how they would turn out…. And we (as well as everyone else) were happy!  These are low in refined sugar – you could even omit the powdered sugar dusting if you like-, and reasonably healthy, taking into consideration that they are deep fried…….  I used my new favorite flour blend of spelt/brown rice/barley to make them gluten-free, and I think I did go ahead and use regular milk in them, but I’m including a coconut milk substitution for making them dairy free.  Besides the frying process, these are pretty quick and easy, and well worth any extra effort!

Apple Fritters
(I honestly don’t remember how many it made!!!! oops!!!!)

1 cup whole wheat flour, or for gluten-free, use equal parts spelt, brown rice and barley
2 Tbsp sugar
3/4 tsp salt
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 cup milk, or 1/4 cup coconut milk plus 1/4 cup water
1 egg
2 apples, chopped (you could peel them, I guess, but I didn’t)
hot oil, for frying
powdered sugar, for dusting

Combine the flour, sugar, salt, baking powder and cinnamon.  Stir in the milk & egg, just until combined, then fold in the apple chunks.  Heat about 1 1/2 inches of oil on high.  The oil is hot enough when a drop of dough floats to the top.  Working in batches, carefully add heaping spoonfulls of batter to the hot oil.  Cook until golden brown, about 2 minutes, then flip and cook another 1-2 minutes until brown.  Transfer briefly to paper towels to absorb extra oil, then to a wire rack to cool briefly.  Dust with powdered sugar, if desired, and serve warm.

Enjoy!!!🙂

 

This entry was posted in breads, breakfast & brunch, dairy-free, fruit, gluten-free, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to apple fritters

  1. Casey says:

    The world needs more fritters! (good bumper sticker, by the way)
    This recipe looks really tasty, but I think I would peel them – did it make for a weird consistency with the skins still on?

    • hey Casey – none of eight or so people that I made them for seemed to mind having the skin on. Part of me is just too lazy to want to spend time peeling the apples, and then another part of me remembers what a nutritionist told me about how having the fiber from the apple peel helps to balance out and digest the sugar you’re getting from the apple, so those are my reasons for not peeling. I’m sure it does change the texture a bit, but I thought they were great!

  2. Casey says:

    oh my gosh!! These look absolutely amazing!!! hey that person up there has the same name as me! lol

  3. Karen Florian says:

    loved reading bits of your blogs/posts. i’m planning on making the apple fritter recipe soon. Is it not very sweet? 2T sugar doesn’t sound like a lot for the whole recipe. Also, what kind of apples do you recommend? Hope you have a fabulous weekend!!

    • hey Karen! The fritters weren’t too sweet, not like what you’d buy from a bakery, but sweet enough for me! I try to keep the amount of refined sugar I use minimal, and decided since they were getting sprinkled with powdered sugar that I could go with a smaller amount in the batter. I think you could use any kind of firm, crisp apples; I don’t even remember what kind I used, actually! It’s great hearing from you; thanks for dropping by!!!

  4. Karen says:

    Hey, just wondered what kind of oil you use for frying them?

    • Let’s see…. I think we used either vegetable oil (canola), or palm-fruit shortening. I made these at my mom’s, and she’s got a fancy deep frier thing and I’m not 100% certain which oil she uses in it! But either of those two would work. 🙂

Leave a Reply

