bluebell salad

After almost two weeks in Kennicott, I’m nearing the end of the fresh veggies I brought out with me.  And, I’m craving more!!  Yesterday was spent planting a garden, which I am so excited to enjoy later this summer!  But as of this moment, my dwindling supply has me a little sad.  So last night I decided to be a little bit creative with some of the cabbage I still had on hand, and went out to pick some bluebell leaves.

The bluebells are beautiful flowers which have just began to bloom here.  Their leaves & flowers are edible, and the leaves have a light cucumber flavor to them.  I don’t really know where else bluebells grow, but if you’re up here in Alaska, there’s plenty of them around!  I tried to pick one leaf from each plant so that the rest can still grow fine.
I’d never really used them to make anything before, but I was thrilled with my results last night!  Being a bit too hungry/lazy to measure any of my ingredients, I don’t have specific amounts, but this salad is simple enough that you can play with your own portions.

Bluebell Salad
serves 1

a small handful of bluebell leaves, sliced lengthwise a couple times
a bigger handful of cabbage, thinly sliced
2 cloves garlic, or less, depending on your preference!
balsamic vinegar
olive oil
salt & pepper

Toss the bluebell leaves & cabbage together in a bowl.  Crush/mince the garlic and, in a small bowl, mix together with the vinegar and oil.  Pour the dressing over your salad & mix to coat.  Season with some salt & pepper.

Enjoy!!🙂

 

This entry was posted in dairy-free, gluten-free, salads, sides, vegan, vegetables, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to bluebell salad

  1. Charles says:

    Aw, I saw the title and got all excited thinking it would be about this type of bluebell – it’s the one that we have in Europe – it usually blooms in ~April to May and it looks beautiful, although I don’t think those ones are edible. Indeed, it seems the ones in Canada are a different variety.

  2. I love the improvisation! I’d be craving vegetables too!

  3. Kim Meyer says:

    that was one thing i decided about living in Alaska, veggies seem to be sparse! Can you have a greenhouse in the winter or is it much too cold? Great meeting you! Thanks for driving us to McCarthy & Kennicott! Kennicott was one of the highlights of my trip!
    –kim

    • great to hear from you Kim! yeah, it is too cold for a greenhouse in the winter; I’ve tried growing herbs in the kitchen window, but even that is hard because we get so little sunlight during the coldest months! The veggies definitely are sparse, but right now I’m working on growing a garden which should be producing a good bit in a month or so, which will be wonderful. Thanks for stopping by my blog!

Leave a Reply

