applesauce, & living in Kennicott

Hello everyone!  Wow, after a week away it does feel good to check back in with the Ragamuffin Diaries!  Thankfully, our internet is now set up at Kennicott Wilderness Guides and I should be back a bit more regularly.

For anyone who doesn’t know, Kennicott, where I live during the summer, is an old mining town located in Wrangell St. Elias National Park & Preserve.  The copper mine here in Kennicott operated from 1911-1938, and now the town is filled with the old red & white industrial remains.  Besides the beautiful old buildings set against the dramatic mountain backdrop, Kennicott is also the point of access for the Root Glacier & Kennicott Glacier, and a major starting point for any number of backcountry trips.  I guide mostly hikes out on the Root Glacier during the summer, but will probably also be doing some backcountry trips as well.

A few things that will be changing about my posts while I’m out here:

– the pictures.  With our internet connection in such a remote place, we try not to do a lot of uploading because it uses too much bandwidth.  At this point, I have about five ‘draft’ posts saved with pictures already uploaded from while I was at home, but after those, my posts will either be without a picture, or with one smaller file size picture.

– the ingredients.  Again, being in a remote place means you use what’s on hand!  I came out here with a few boxes of food, and those are pretty much my options for the next couple months.  There’s a small grocery store near here, but with the higher prices I’ll try not to do a lot of shopping until I go out to Anchorage in July.  So it’ll be an adventure mixing things up and creating some new recipes!

– the cooking methods.  We have a wonderful three burner propane stove out here, but no oven.  I’ll be experimenting with a few different options, but there probably won’t be any ‘baking’ recipes for a while!

– the frequency.  As stated, I’ll try to post more regularly than once a week, but I can’t guarantee it.  The guiding life can be a bit sporadic, but I’ll do my best to get new posts up regularly!

So there’s a bit of an update on my life.  I’m giving you a simple recipe for applesauce that I put together while I was at home in Kenny Lake.  As I mentioned before, my mom had a big case of apples that needed to be used so I played around with a few different things.  I’d never made applesauce before, so I started out with a small batch, and liked it so much that the next day I made a bigger batch and canned some to bring out to Kennicott with me!  Yum….🙂

It’s really simple, you have complete control over how sweet you want it, and it is sooooo much yummier than store bought!  Try it!

Applesauce 
makes 4-6 cups

7-8 cups chopped apples (I chose not to peel mine and think it turned out wonderfully, but my mom said she would want hers peeled if she made it again – person preference!)
2 Tbsp lemon juice
1/2 tsp good quality sea salt
about 1 cup water (this is what i used, but you could go more or less depending on how thick you want the applesauce)
1 Tbsp maple syrup, or more if you’d like yours sweeter, I found that 1 Tbsp was just right

In a large pot, combine all the ingredients except for the maple syrup.  Bring to a boil, then cover and reduce the heat to low.  Simmer, stirring occasionally, for 1-2 hours, until apples are softened and breaking apart.  When finished cooking, mash a little bit with a potato masher until it reaches desired consistency – I found I didn’t need to do much.  Stir in the maple syrup and serve warm, or store in the refrigerator if you’d rather have it chilled.

Enjoy!!!🙂

This entry was posted in breakfast & brunch, dairy-free, fruit, gluten-free, vegan, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to applesauce, & living in Kennicott

  1. What an adventure. I mean cooking without an oven, not so much the glacier part.:) I really need to make homemade applesauce.I love your recipe.

Leave a Reply

