peanut butter brownies

A few minutes ago, mom was reaching for a Twix bar, and I said, “No!  Wait!  There’s brownies in the fridge that are better for you!”  And the great thing is, it’s so true!

I promised, when I posted the Mexican Brownie Recipe, that a peanut butter variation would be coming soon, and now, here it is!  I made this on Monday with the same basic black bean brownie recipe, and they were wonderful.  I even got to share a few with some old highschool friends I hadn’t seen in a few years – what fun!

And that’s all for now, because once I finish this post, I’ll finish packing my car, and then I’ll be heading out to my ‘summer home’ in Kennicott.  I plan to keep posting from there, but the posts may look a little different in regards to what cooking options I’ll have!  But anyways, more on that later.  Now……  Make brownies!!!!🙂

P.S. I left out the 1/3 cup of flour in the brownies this time, and they still turned out great!  So they can easily be made gluten-free!

Peanut Butter Brownies
makes about 20

Brownies:
2 cups cooked black beans
3 eggs
1/4 cup maple syrup
1/4 cup honey
2 tsp vanilla
1/3 cup coconut oil, gently melted
1/2 cup plus 2 Tbsp cocoa
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Peanut Butter Filling:
4 tbsp coconut oil, gently melted
1/3 cup confectioners sugar
3/4 cup crunchy natural peanut butter
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp vanilla

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease an 8 inch baking pan; this batter definitely fills this size pan, you could use a bigger pan if you wanted the batter more spread out.

In a blender, combine the beans, eggs, maple syrup, honey, vanilla, and coconut oil.  Blend until everything is smoothly mixed.

In a medium bowl, combine the cinnamon, baking powder and salt.  Mix in the chocolate chips so that they’re coated with flour.  Pour the wet ingredients into the flour mixture and stir until well combined.

In another bowl, combine the ingredients for the peanut butter filling.

Pour about half of the brownie batter into the prepared pan, then, with about half of the peanut butter filling, drop spoonfulls over the first layer.  Repeat with the rest of the batter, then swirl them together with a knife.   Bake for 35-40 minutes, until set and a toothpick comes out mostly clean.  Allow to cool, then cut into squares.  Store in a sealed container in the refrigerator.  These are delicious chilled!

Enjoy!!!🙂

This entry was posted in beans, brownies, chocolate, dairy-free, desserts, gluten-free, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to peanut butter brownies

  1. Kim says:

    Hey there, “Alaska!” Your blog looks great… can’t wait to try a few recipes. I value the info from the Weston Price Foundation, too. In fact, we grind our own wheat to make bread that we eat within three days to get the most nutrients from it. Check out my blog sometime… it’s about healthy living. You might find a recipe you’ll enjoy.
    http://www.kimatrest.wordpress.com

  2. These look FANTASTIC
    please stop by and say hi
    xoxo
    bB
    http://www.itsybitsybrianna.wordpress.com

  3. Charles says:

    Whoa – these look amazing. I’ve never seen black beans on sale anywhere around me though – do you think red kidney beans would yield the same (well… similar at least) result? I’m definitely looking forward to trying these because they look delicious.

  4. holly says:

    I’m making these right now and 50 minutes seems way too long. I think I may take out as they have been in 30 minutes in a 8×8 pan and smell done!

    • how’d they turn out? when I made them, I originally took them out around 35 minutes, and then decided they definitely weren’t set enough and needed to go back in….. I also thought 50 minutes seemed really long though!

  5. Pingback: Don’t be afraid of veggies… hide ‘em! « the rest of the story…

  6. Kim says:

    Bek–I tried this recipe today. I left them in for 40 minutes and they’re a bit dry, but then my oven is unpredictable so maybe it was warmer than 350 degrees. We enjoyed the brownies with organic strawberries tonight–yummmmm. Can’t wait to try the recipe again.

  7. Kim says:

    Oh! I used your photo of the brownies in my blog post. Hope you get some traffic from it. I thought I’d get a photo of my brownies today, but it didn’t work out. Hmph. You take great shots of mountains and food. I love your stories.

    • hey Kim – yeah, thanks for the mention!!!! I appreciate it. 🙂 And thanks for reading & your feedback! brownies with strawberries sounds incredible; I’d love some strawberries right now!!!!!

Leave a Reply

