apple cake

In brief: my family is amazing!

The last five or so days have been a whirlwind of wonderful time spent together with my parents, 2 sisters, and 3 brothers.  We had about 2 full days where everyone was home, and it couldn’t have been better!

All of the recent family time is also my excuse for not posting….  Trust me, there is no lack of content to share, but a definite lack of time to write!  When my mom and I are in the same kitchen, there is a constant over-abundance of food, and it’s been fun to try out some new recipes and share some old ones together.

This recipe is simple and homey, a good breakfast to share with family.  My mom ended up with a case of apples that needed to be used, so I’ve been trying out quite a few apple recipes (I’ve got a few more to share!) in the last couple weeks.  The base recipe came from Dorie Greenspan, but by the time I was finished tweaking it, it bared very little resemblance to the original!  I wanted to make the cake dairy-free, so used coconut milk & coconut oil, and decided to soak the flour & oats overnight.  I also used maple syrup instead of sugar, added maple flavoring, and added some flaked coconut.  This recipe was a definite winner, being wonderfully moist and nicely flavored.  We ate it for breakfast, but it could also make a healthy dessert.

And that’s all for now.  A quick post, but, my family’s still here!

Apple Cake
serves 6-8

1/2 c coconut milk
1/4 c water
1/2 c coconut oil, melted
1 3/4 c flour blend – I used a mix of equal parts spelt, barley & brown rice; whole wheat flour would also work.
3/4 cup old-fashioned oats

Mix together the coconut milk, water, coconut oil, flour and oats.  Cover and let sit for 12-18 hours, or overnight.

1 large egg
2 tsp maple extract
1/4 c maple syrup
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp salt
about 2 cups chopped apple
1 cup unsweetened flaked coconut

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Oil an eight inch square pan.

In a small bowl, lightly beat the egg together with the maple extract and maple syrup.  In another small bowl, mix together the baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon and salt.  Add these dry ingredients to the soaked flour mixture and stir just until incorporated.  Stir in the egg mixture, apple and coconut just until mixed.  Pour into prepared pan and bake for 35-40 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the middle comes out clean.  Let cool on a wire rack.  Serve warm.

Enjoy!!🙂

This entry was posted in breakfast & brunch, cakes, dairy-free, fruit, gluten-free, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to apple cake

  1. I’d like a scoop of ice cream with mine please🙂

    “Everything I eat has been proved by some doctor or other to be a deadly poison, and everything I don’t eat has been proved to be indispensable for life. But I go marching on. ” ~George Bernard Shaw

Leave a Reply

