asian orange salmon

One of the things I missed most while being out of Alaska…. the salmon!

My first full day back home I cooked dinner, and my dad came to the table commenting “well, there’s salmon; Rebekah must be home!”  Yup, home & happy to be eating salmon again!  Every summer/fall we catch some fish, either through dipnetting or a fishwheel, clean them, and then either can or freeze them to last until the next summer.  It’s wonderful to be able to get plenty of such a delicious and healthy food for the price of a dipnet permit!

I’ve got a ‘normal’ method for cooking my salmon which I love, but it’s one that’s never been written down thus far.  Sometime I’ll accomplish that, but not yet…  I tried a new recipe with some fresh oranges we had last week, and it was a tasty change.  For now I’ll share that one with you!

Asian Orange Salmon
serves 4-5

1 1/2 to 2 pounds fresh salmon
1/2 cup orange juice
1/2 cup white wine
1/4 cup soy sauce
2 Tbsp rice vinegar
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 Tbsp fresh ginger, grated
1 tsp brown sugar
sea salt & fresh ground pepper
1 orange, cut into slices

Preheat over to 375 degrees.  Oil a casserole dish.

In a medium pan, combine orange juice, white wine, soy sauce, rice vinegar, garlic, ginger and sugar.  Bring to a boil, reduce heat to medium and cook, stirring, until thickened and somewhat reduced.

Place salmon fillets in prepared pan.  Season the salmon with salt and pepper.  Arrange the orange slices on the salmon, and pour the sauce over everything.

Bake for 15-20 minutes, or until salmon is just finished.  Be careful not to overcook; salmon is best when just barely done in the middle!

Enjoy!🙂

This entry was posted in dairy-free, entrees, fish & seafood, gluten-free and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to asian orange salmon

  1. Charles says:

    How delicious – I totally agree about salmon being best when “just barely done” in the middle, it’s so succulent like this. A lot of people I know think this is weird and act like I’m serving them uncooked chicken (and yet they’ll happily eat sashimi the next day :s)

Leave a Reply

