white chocolate gingerbread blondies

Sooo, maybe it’s slightly out of season for a gingerbread recipe.  But why should gingerbread to be kept only for Christmas time??  It’s just too good to be ignored the rest of the year!

I came across a recipe for these bars a couple months ago, and thought the combination sounded incredible.  Although I did go through a white chocolate phase in high school, I’ve been a dark chocolate convert ever since my college roommate informed me that “white chocolate is not real chocolate.”  So while I don’t cook with, or eat, the white variety very often, this white chocolate gingerbread combo really stood out to me.

Over the past week at my parents’ house, I’ve definitely been taking advantage of my mother’s wonderfully stocked kitchen, and these bars are one of the things that I finally got around to making, and I’m so glad that I did!  My initial impression was correct; these bars are delicious, and I definitely recommend them!

The original recipe for these bars came from <a title="Martha Stewart" href="Martha Stewart, but I changed a few things around.  I reduced the white & brown sugar amounts, and slightly increased the molasses, which is a healthier sweetener, and even though my bars had less sugar than the original, the amounts of sugar could probably still be reduced even more.  I added ground flax and used a flour blend of spelt, barley & brown rice; the fact that my mom has a wheat grinder makes trying out other flours much easier!  Regular wheat flour would work as well.

White Chocolate Gingerbread Blondies
makes 24-30, depending on what size you cut them

2 3/4 cups  all-purpose flour, spelt, barley & brown rice blend
1 1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp kosher salt
1/4 cup ground flax seed
1 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1 tsp ground ginger
1/4 tsp ground allspice
1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
1 1/4 cup, or 2 1/2 sticks butter, at room temperature
3/4 cup packed brown sugar
1/4 cup granulated sugar
2 large eggs, plus 1 egg yolk
1 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 cup molasses
1 1/2 cups white chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Grease a 9×13 inch baking pan.

In a medium bowl, stir together the flour, baking soda, salt, flax, and spices.  Stir in the white chocolate chips.

In a large bowl, cream together the butter and sugars until light & fluffy.  Add the eggs & yolk, one at a time, mixing well between each addition.  Beat in the vanilla and molasses.  Stir in the flour mixture, just until incorporated.

Pour the batter into the prepared pan.  It will be a thick batter, but just spread it out in the pan.  Bake 30-35 minutes, or until batter is set and the toothpick comes out mostly clean.  Allow to cool completely in the pan, then cut into squares before serving.

Enjoy!!🙂

This entry was posted in brownies, chocolate, desserts, gluten-free, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to white chocolate gingerbread blondies

  1. Feeding Time says:

    Yum, good work, I love your recipes!

  2. Christina says:

    Oh man…hello! These look incredible! I am loving the white chocolate chips in these….I can’t wait to give them a try!😀

  3. Those look really, really great!

Leave a Reply

