somethin’ simple: roasted asparagus

I love asparagus.  I mean, isn’t that just gorgeous?

Up until a few years ago, I had only been exposed to the canned variety, and was thoroughly unimpressed.  Then, while living with a family in Kansas, I was introduced to fresh asparagus, and realized that I had never before encountered the real thing.  Ever since, I’ve been a huge fan.  I’ve been surprised by the fact that not everyone enjoys this wonderful vegetable as much as I now do.  Joe is one of those people, and I’ve repeatedly looked at him in astonishment, “you really don’t like this?  …..really?”  I guess it’s just not for everyone!

Now that I’m back in rural Alaska, it’s a little tricky to get asparagus, where the closest place to buy it is an hour away, but my darling siblings picked up a couple bunches while they were in town and we’ve thoroughly enjoyed it!

Usually I saute asparagus in a skillet with some olive oil, and I think that may still be my favorite way to prepare it, just for the ease of it, but last night I thought I’d try roasting it, which I can now say is excellent as well!  Maybe my favorite part of the roasted variety is the little bits of garlic…. yum!  As stated in the title, this is simple, and more of a technique than a recipe, but it’s good to have simple in your life, so here it is.

Roasted Asparagus
serves 3-4

one bunch asparagus
olive oil
3-4 cloves garlic, minced
sea salt & fresh ground pepper

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.

Wash the asparagus.  Pour some oil on a baking sheet, then put the asparagus on the sheet and roll it around in the oil until it’s all thinly coated.  Sprinkle the garlic over the asparagus, then top with the salt & pepper.  Cook the asparagus for 5-10 minutes, depending on how big your stalks are.  Serve immediately.

Enjoy!!!🙂

This entry was posted in dairy-free, gluten-free, sides, vegan, vegetables, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to somethin’ simple: roasted asparagus

  1. erika haukaas-hardman says:

    this is how i do my asparagus too!! just made it last sunday! i love the sea salt on it:)

  2. Feeding Time says:

    I adore roasted asparagus. I recently posted a recipe on my blog for roasted asparagus with butter and parmesan. I like the idea of the garlic, do you find it gets burnt at all?

  3. Charles says:

    Mm, I love asparagus. Balsamic vinegar goes really well with freshly roasted aspargus too!

  4. This looks delicious! Is there anything that you normally pair this with?

  5. It looks exaclty like the lunch im going to have tomorrow🙂

Leave a Reply

