shrimp scampi for mother’s day

I got to cook dinner for two wonderful mothers today, and then I got to go spend time with my wonderful Grandma.  Quite nice.

(I also ate pasta for like the first time in quite a few months….. and did I mention that I cooked with butter?????)

As we wondered through the aisles of Costco in Anchorage yesterday, mom picked up a bag of shrimp, smiling as she commented “Let’s make shrimp scampi!”  I pondered for a moment before concluding “I don’t even know what that is…. But I think we could figure it out!”

Thanks to a quick google search before church this morning, and a bit more research after church and before cooking, I figured out what shrimp scampi is and managed to pull together my own combination of recipes.  Thankfully, since time was a bit short, shrimp scampi comes together rather quickly and simply.  My sister Amy made a broccoli salad while I cooked, and mom had a chance to play her favorite card game with our friend Steffanie.

Steffanie and her two darling toddler boys were three people who I was extremely excited to see today.  Steff’s a good friend, and her two boys, Easton & Behr, are just great.  I would insert a picture here of Easton eating his glob of angel hair pasta, but I figure I should get Steff’s permission before doing that.  :-)

Anyways, dinner turned out wonderful, we all decided that we love shrimp scampi, and I’m glad that I got the chance to cook for my lovely mother & friend.  Happy Mother’s Day!

Shrimp Scampi
serves 6-8

1/2 cup butter
1/4 cup olive oil
1 medium onion, finely diced
8 cloves garlic, minced
2 pounds large shrimp, peeled & deveined
1 cup flour
1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp freshly ground pepper
1 cup sun-dried tomatoes
1 cup white wine
juice of 3 lemons
salt & freshly ground pepper, to taste
1 cup grated Parmesan cheese
16 ounces angel hair pasta
chopped fresh parsley (or dried if, like me, you can’t obtain the fresh stuff…)

Boil water for pasta.

In a shallow bowl, mix together the flour, cayenne, salt, and pepper.  Dredge the shrimp in this mixture.  (You could do this while the onion & garlic cook, but I dredged all the shrimp before I started cooking and then set it aside so it would be ready to go.)

Heat olive oil & melt the butter in a large skillet over medium heat.  Add onions & garlic  and cook until onions are translucent.  Add the shrimp, stir and cook for a few minutes.  Add the lemon juice, wine, and sun-dried tomatoes.  Stir & reduce heat to low.

Cook the angel hair pasta in the boiling water.  Cook until just done; drain, reserving a bit of the pasta water.

Remove skillet from heat, stir in parmesan cheese, and salt & pepper to taste.  Stir in any of the reserved pasta liquid if it’s needed.  Top with the chopped parsley and serve immediately over the pasta.

Enjoy!!🙂

This entry was posted in entrees, fish & seafood and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to shrimp scampi for mother’s day

  1. My first thought about this scampi was BEAUTIFULL🙂

  2. Pingback: shrimp scampi (via the ragamuffin diaries) | My Grandparent's Kitchen

  3. Looks like you improvised very well! Great recipe.

Leave a Reply

