apple cranberry crisp

I’m back home!!!!!!!

After two weeks on the road, covering almost 5,000 miles on the drive from Ohio to Alaska, Joe & I made it to my parent’s house late Tuesday afternoon.  The total number of pictures taken on the trip was about 3,300 – so those will be keeping me busy for a few days!  We saw so many amazing, unique and beautiful places on the road, but it’s so great to just be back home with my wonderful dog and incredible mountains right out the window.  Joe was here in Kenny Lake yesterday, and this morning he left to drive out to McCarthy, where he’ll be starting his summer job (my unexpected predicament this afternoon was picking out pictures for this blog post without being able to ask for his opinion!).  I’ve got two more weeks in Kenny Lake, filled with lots of family events, before I head out.

Much of yesterday was spent enjoying the vastness of my mother’s kitchen and her supply of all sorts of ingredients which have existed only in my imagination in the past two weeks.  Mom made dairy-free and soaked-flour bread and cinnamon rolls – which all turned out wonderfully delicious! – and I cooked a dinner of salmon, 3-grain pilaf, asparagus & broccoli.  It’s so wonderful to be able to cook real meals again, and to have salmon!  Someday I’ll measure the ingredients I use for soy-ginger salmon, but yesterday wasn’t the day.

Mom informed me that she’d recently bought a case of apples for a really good deal, and that I should use them in something.   I knew there was a recipe for an apple cobbler in Sally Fallon’s Nourishing Traditions cookbook that I’d tried before, but I decided to play around with it a bit more this time.  Some good Alaska cranberries sounded like a good addition, as did unsweetened coconut & oats.  The original recipe called for Rapadura, but since I don’t have any of that, I used maple syrup instead.  Oh, and of course I made the recipe dairy-free.  My final formula bears very little resemblance to the original recipe, and I’ve decided that it’s more of a ‘crisp’ than a ‘cobbler’.

One of the most wonderful things in the Alaskan fall is all of the berries ripe & ready to pick.  Mom loves the blueberries, but I tend a little more towards the cranberries.  We pick a bunch, then bag them and freeze them to use throughout the year.  The cranberries we have up here are smaller, and maybe a little more tart, than store-bought cranberries, but I’m sure the store variety would work great in this recipe as well!

This is a delicious crisp; it’s still pretty tart, so if you’d like it sweeter feel free to increase the maple syrup in either the topping or the cranberry mixture.  If you follow this recipe, there’s only 1/2 cup total of maple syrup used, and no flour, which I think is a pretty healthy dessert!  This was one of my first tries cooking with arrowroot powder, and I’m really happy with the results!

Ah, it feels good to be writing a blog post again.  I felt like the ragamuffin diaries was very neglected over the past couple weeks, but now I’m back!

Apple Cranberry Crisp
serves 6-8

1 1/2 cups cranberries
juice of 2 lemons
grated rind of 1 lemon
1/4 cup maple syrup
6 apples, peeled, cored, and thinly sliced
1 tablespoon arrowroot powder
1 teaspoon cinnamon

Combine the cranberries, lemon juice, lemon zest & maple syrup in a small saucepan.  Bring to a boil, stirring often, and cook for about 10-15 minutes, or until dark red and thickened.

In a small bowl stir together the cinnamon and arrowroot powder, then toss with the apples.  Pour the cranberry mixture over the apples and stir together.  Place the fruit mixture in a greased 9×13 baking dish.

3/4 cup roasted almonds
2/3 cup arrowroot powder
2/3 cup regular oats
2/3 cup unsweetened flaked coconut
2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon sea salt
1/2 cup coconut oil, or butter if you want
1/4 cup maple syrup
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Place almonds in a food processor and process until finally chopped.  In a medium size bowl, mix together almonds, arrowroot powder, oats, coconut, cinnamon and sea salt.  Cut in the coconut oil until coarse crumbs are formed, then stir in the maple syrup and vanilla.  Crumble this mixture over the fruit.  Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour.  We ate ours as is, but I’m sure it would also be delicious with some whipped cream or ice cream!

Enjoy!!🙂

This entry was posted in dairy-free, desserts, fruit, gluten-free, vegan, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

