oatmeal-ate-molasses cookies

Almost exactly one week ago, – which is absolutely astounding because it seems like ages ago! – Joe & I were busy packing up and cleaning out our New Orleans apartment.  Throughout the exhausting morning and afternoon, one of the biggest motivators to keep working cheerily was the fact that we would be taking a break, and we would be buying ice cream.  Not just any ice cream, but Creole Creamery ice cream!  (I should clarify: I would be buying ice cream, and Joe would be buying sorbet.)  We’d been to Creole Creamery once before and savored their delicious concoctions, and we were happy to have an excuse to fit in one more trip before leaving New Orleans!

Anyways, all of that to say, the ice cream you see in my cone above (& please, try to ignore my sun-burnt nose; that’s what I did….) was mind-blowing.  Usually I lean towards everything chocolate, but this Oatmeal Raisin Molasses Cookie Ice Cream piqued my interest enough to forgo the normal chocolatey choice, and I’m so glad that I did!  The rich flavors blended so perfectly well it was almost heartbreaking to lick up the last few drops & know it was all gone.

So, on Thursday, when mom told me she was making molasses cookies, the light bulb in my head clicked on, and then almost exploded as I thought about attempting a re-creation of that amazing ice cream, in cookie form!  I asked mom to email me her molasses & oatmeal raisin cookie recipes, and then halved each recipe so that I wouldn’t have an enormous amount of cookies to deal with.  Aside from a few adjustments I made in each recipe, I’m proud to say that these are two fabulous recipes from my mother, who is an incredible cook.  Each of these recipes is so good on its own that I kind of feel like I’m cheating by sharing them both at the same time!

The cookies turned out absolutely beautiful & delicious, receiving a thumbs-up from Joe & his parents.  I kind of expected it to be more obvious that there was one type of cookie inside of another type, but the flavors and textures blended together so completely that, if you didn’t know, you might not have noticed at all!  These are, like the ice cream that inspired them, a wonderfully perfect combination.  Although they do take a little longer than a normal cookie to make (mostly because you have to make two separate doughs), they really aren’t a whole lot of extra work, and worth the effort!

Oatmeal-Ate-Molasses Cookies 
makes 2-3 dozen, depending on size

Molasses Cookie Dough:
1/4 cup plus 2 Tbsp melted shortening
1/4 cup white sugar
1/4 cup molasses
1 egg
1 1/3 cup flour (I used half wheat & half white)
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp ginger
1/4 tsp cloves
1/2 tsp cinnamon
pinch salt

In a medium size bowl, mix together the shortening, sugar, molasses and egg; I suppose you could use a mixer for this, but it’s also easily done without.  In a small bowl, sift together the remaining ingredients.  Stir the dry ingredients into the wet; set aside.

Oatmeal Cookie Dough:
1/2 cup shortening
1/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup honey
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla
1 1/4 cup flour
1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
pinch salt
1 cup quick or old fashioned oats
1/3 cup raisins

In a medium size bowl, blend together the shortening, sugar and honey.  Stir in the egg & vanilla.  In a small bowl, sift together the flour, cinnamon, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.  Stir the flour mixture into the wet ingredients, then add the oats & raisins, and stir until combined.

Now here’s the fun part!  Pinch off some molasses cookie dough and roll it into a ball; I’m not sure exactly what size mine were because I didn’t measure, but I figured I wanted it to be about half the size of a regular cookie.  Then take some of the oatmeal cookie dough, flatten it in your fingers a little bit, and wrap it around the ball of molasses dough And remember it’s not the end of the world, or really even a problem, if this doesn’t work as perfectly as it may sound.  As long as there is oatmeal cookie dough around the molasses dough, you’re fine!

Place the prepared balls of cookie dough on a greased baking sheet, and bake at 350 degrees for 12-14 minutes, or until beautifully golden brown.  Cool on wire racks.

Enjoy!!🙂

This entry was posted in cookies, dairy-free, desserts, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to oatmeal-ate-molasses cookies

  1. Your cookies are GORGEOUS!!!😀

    I love your blog!😀

  2. Charles says:

    Mm, I love cinnamon and ginger and cloves in cookies – I have a habit of ramping up the spices a bit to the extremes though which might not be to everyone’s tastes😀

Leave a Reply

