raspberry chipotle & black bean sauce over rice & kale

That title is a little exhaustive, I know, but I just couldn’t leave any of those ingredients out and be satisfied with the description!

Last week, while still in New Orleans, I had two days to work on cleaning, packing and cooking.  I ended up spending a majority of the time cooking, trying out five new recipes in those days, which I justified by saying that I needed to have some recipes ready for blog posts while I would be traveling.  Added justification came from the fact that I cooked up enough to have leftovers on hand for our last two days in New Orleans, reducing the amount of time we would need to worry about cooking.  Both of which turned out to be great reasoning.

This is one of those recipes; I’d seen a similar recipe over at The Post Punk Kitchen website back in January, and had wanted to try it, but never seemed to have the right ingredients on hand.  I was really happy with how the flavors came together; raspberry & chipotle are such an amazing combination!  Yum!  And because kale is included, you have a complete meal ready to go with this dish.  This is a small, two serving recipe, but it could easily be doubled, or tripled, depending on how many you’re cooking for.

In other news, Joe & I have 2 1/2 more days in Ohio before we start driving again on Tuesday.  Yesterday we drove down to Kentucky and spent some time with my grandparents and one of my aunts; it was wonderful to be able to see them!  We’re staying busy right now with travel prep and planning; it’s a little overwhelming, but I’m sure it’ll all come together fine!

Raspberry Chipotle & Black Bean Sauce over Rice & Kale 
2 servings

1/2 cup rice (I used a cajun rice which we got from Hollygrove, similar to brown basmati rice)
1 cup water
a little bit of olive oil & sea salt
about 2 heaping cups coarsely chopped kale

1 clove garlic, minced
1/4 cup almonds, roasted & chopped (divided)
1-2 chipotle peppers in adobe sauce
2 Tbsp water
1/2 cup (mine was definitely heaping!) frozen raspberries, thawed
1 tsp maple syrup
1/4 tsp salt

1 1/2 cups cooked black beans

In a small saucepan, combine the rice, water, oil and salt.  Cover and bring to a boil.  Once boiling, lower heat to simmer and cook until the rice is tender.  When the water is cooked down to a little lower than the rice level (or for about the last 5-10 minutes of cooking), place the kale on top of the rice so that it can steam.  When rice & kale are tender and all the water is cooked out, stir together & fluff with a fork.

Put the garlic, 2 tablespoons of the almonds, chipotle peppers, water, raspberries & maple syrup in a blender and blend until smooth.  If it’s too thick, add a little more water.  Combine the sauce & black beans in a small pan and heat over medium low heat.  Serve sauce over the rice & kale mixture.

Enjoy!🙂

This entry was posted in beans, dairy-free, entrees, Hollygrove, vegan, vegetables, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to raspberry chipotle & black bean sauce over rice & kale

  1. You’re so lucky to have spent some time in New Orleans. This recipe looks great. Happy travels.

  2. Recipe Chefs says:

    Excellent post thanks for sharing. Food is something I can enjoy all around. If I’m not eating it. I’m reading and looking at pictures about it.

    Rise n Shine Eggs – Breakfast Recipe

  3. Sarah Dolge says:

    I look forward to trying this one in another month or so. I’ll need to make sure these ingredients are on my shopping list next time we head to Anchorage!!!

Leave a Reply

