banana carrot muffins

I owe the above muffins an enormous debt of gratitude.  Really, I am incredibly grateful!  These are the muffins which got me & Joe through sixteen hours worth of driving on Tuesday (I didn’t even eat a single piece of chocolate the entire day, and that is no small feat!).  And, on that note, I’m no longer in New Orleans!  The trip north has begun, and we are currently in Ohio with Joe’s family for a few days before we keep going to Alaska.

About a month ago, I tried making my first version of these muffins, with just carrots, which was also the first time I tried soaking flour.  They turned out good, very moist, but not completely what I was looking for; the texture was too dense and I wanted more flavor.  So I tried them a second time, this time adding bananas and steel cut oats.  They were much better this time, but still a little off on the texture.  Finally, last week I tried a third time, and this time was completely satisfied!

These muffins taste amazing, and are wonderfully healthy.  They use all whole wheat flour, which is soaked for easier digestion (you can check out my pancake recipe for more information on soaking flour).  The only sweetener in them is 1/4 cup maple syrup, which, combined with the natural sweetness of the bananas & carrots, is the perfect amount!  I also included flax seeds; I don’t currently have a grinder for my flax, so I threw them in whole, but ground would work just as well!

I can now say from experience, these muffins make great road trip food.  They are an absolutely delicious way to both stay away from unhealthy fast food and save money at the same time.

Banana Carrot Muffins
makes 1 dozen

1 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
3/4 cup steel cut oats
1/3 cup coconut milk (or regular milk if you aren’t dairy free)
1/3 cup water
2 Tbsp apple cider vinegar
1/4 cup maple syrup
1/3 cup coconut oil

In a medium size bowl, stir together the first four ingredients.

In a small skillet, gently melt coconut oil, stir in maple syrup and vinegar, and then combine with flour mixture.  Cover & let sit out overnight. (12-24 hours)

1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1/2 tsp allspice
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 cup flax seeds

When ready to bake the muffins, combine the above dry ingredients in a small bowl, then stir into the flour mixture.

2 tsp vanilla
1 cup mashed banana, about 2 bananas (use ones that are very ripe)
1 cup grated carrot, about 3 carrots

Add these last three ingredients to the flour mixture and stir until everything is incorporated.  Spoon mixture into muffin cups (which are either greased or lined with paper liners) and bake at 375 degrees for 25-30 minutes.  Let sit on rack for five minutes before removing from pan.

Enjoy!!🙂

This entry was posted in breads, breakfast & brunch, dairy-free, vegan, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to banana carrot muffins

  1. I love the banana and carrot combination idea. They sure look delicious🙂

  2. Pingback: ragamuffin diaries turns one! | the ragamuffin diaries

  3. Pingback: Top 10 Healthy Digestion Recipes

  4. Pingback: Top 10 Healthy Digestion Recipes - Top Inspired

Leave a Reply

