spring saute

I feel as if I’m being a bit repetitive with my ingredient choices these days.  Sweet potatoes and cabbage certainly seem to be a couple recurring factors in the recipes I’ve been posting.  Part of me feels like this is a bad thing, and that I should be branching out more.  But, in my defense, I’ll say that this repetition is mostly due to the seasonal ingredients that I receive each week in my Hollygrove produce box.  When you receive cabbage & sweet potatoes four weeks in a row, you have to keep coming up with ways to cook them!  And, why buy other ingredients when you already have these on hand?

Yes, if you can’t tell, I do feel a bit ridiculous for posting yet another cabbage recipe.  Maybe I should have a category on my blog just for cabbage?  I’ll think on that.  This recipe also uses fava beans, another ingredient I recently featured in my recipe for ful.  These favas are entirely different though, because this time, instead of scooping shriveled beans from a Whole Foods bin, I was provided with gorgeous long green fava bean pods from Hollygrove.  Fresh!  Beautiful favas!

This is a simple little dish; it would go great with rice and fish, or as a side to a bowl of soup.  My instructions are not super exact on the timing, because I didn’t really time myself.  So use your judgment; you want the veggies to remain crisp, but cooked.  The flavors here are simple, but they compliment each other very well.  I sprouted my own mung beans, which I recommend, and will most likely blog about someday soon, but not tonight, because it was a long (but great!) weekend, and now I’m exhausted….

Spring Saute
serves 2

about 1/3 cup shelled fresh fava beans, or 1/4 pound in pods

To prepare the fava beans:
First, open the big green pods and remove all the beans.  I think this is fun. :-)  Then take the beans, and steam them for about 1-2 minutes.  If you don’t have a steamer basket, I think you could boil them briefly as well.  Remove from heat and place beans in a bowl of ice water to cool them down quickly, then remove the skin from the beans.  Now they’re ready!

Sauce:
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 Tbsp Braggs, or a natural soy sauce
1 Tbsp rice vinegar
2 tsp grated ginger
1 tsp grated lemon rind

In a small bowl, combine the sauce ingredients.  Set aside.

olive oil
2-3 green onions (mine were huge, so I only used 2), chopped
2 cups cabbage, thinly sliced
1 cup mung bean sprouts

In a wok or frying pan (I recommend a wok, if you have it!), heat the oil over high heat.  Add the onions, stirring frequently, if not constantly!  I waited to add the green onion tops (there’s probably a proper name for those, but I don’t know it…) with the sprouts.  When the onions look slightly translucent, add the cabbage, still doing lots of stirring!  After a couple minutes, add the bean sprouts, green onion tops and fava beans.  Stir for about 30 seconds, the pour the sauce over everything.  Stir and cook for about 30 seconds more, then remove from heat.  Taste, and adjust seasoning as necessary.

Enjoy!!🙂

 

This entry was posted in beans, dairy-free, Hollygrove, sides, vegan, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to spring saute

  1. Any recipe with fava beans doesn’t count as repetitive. Love all the green!

  2. Charles says:

    Wow, this looks a lot like something I had in a restaurant recently and I *loved* it – glad to see this – will serve as a nice reminder to make it myself, thanks!

Leave a Reply

