beet & carrot salad

Ever since Tuesday, my to-do list has kept reminding me “Blog Post!”

But Tuesday night Joe & I were trapped in a Wal-Mart parking lot for 2 1/2 hours (apparently only 30 minutes of thunderstorming was enough to depost 2+ feet of water on the highway we needed to drive on; so we waited for the water to lower!).  So, when I finally got back home at 9:30 (very thankful for leftover curry in the freezer!), no blog post was happening.

Then Wednesday night, I made a HUGE pot of Gumbo.  That was finished around 8:30, and after eating & cleaning the kitchen, no blog post was happening.

Then, Thursday night, I fully intended to make it happen.  However, when I made it home around 6:30 and tried to get online, our internet wouldn’t connect!  Noooo!  So again, no blog post.

I am quite pleased to say that, after 1 hour and 8 minutes on the phone with AT&T customer support, the internet is working again, and I’m here to bring you a lovely, colorful salad.

Beets.  I confess, beets were something I never really liked.  I like most foods, but even the sound of the word, “beet”, made me cringe.  I consider the boiled, then frozen to be eaten throughout the winter, variety that I grew up eating to be the main culprit for this dislike.  But back in January, our weekly box from Hollygrove kept coming with a bunch of beets in it, and I was forced to investigate uses for this gorgeous vegetable.

Thankfully, I can finally say I like beets!  I’m still a bit nervous when cooking beets comes up, but after a few of Joe’s Beet Curries (maybe that recipe will be written down someday), a beet chocolate cake (SO GOOD! you’ll be seeing that one sometime, guaranteed!), and this salad, I’ve learned that they can be put to very good & delicious use.   And they’re so healthy!  Ah, I’m thankful that I can appreciate all their goodness now.

Beet & Carrot Salad
serves 3-4

Dressing:
3 1/2 Tbsp finely minced onion
3 Tbsp + 2 tsp apple cider vinegar
grated rind & juice from 1 orange (use orange; I substituted lemon once, and it definitely is not as good!)
1 Tbsp grated & peeled fresh ginger
3/4 tsp coarse sea salt
1/3 cup olive oil

Whisk the dressing ingredients together, up to the olive oil.   Let sit for about ten minutes for the flavors to blend, then add the olive oil.

Salad:
4 small, or 2 larger, beets, grated
3-4 carrots, grated
mixed greens (arugula is delicious!)
chopped almonds

Combine the beets, carrots & dressing.

For serving, spread greens on a plate, top with the carrot-beet mixture, and sprinkle with some of the chopped almonds.

Enjoy!!!🙂

This entry was posted in dairy-free, Hollygrove, salads, vegan, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to beet & carrot salad

  1. That’s the prettiest salad I’ve seen in some time. Great idea.

  2. Gretchen says:

    That looks fantastic! Did you cook the beets or leave them raw?

  3. Pingback: vegan chocolate beet cake | the ragamuffin diaries

  4. Jenny says:

    This recipe inspired me to make a version of this last night: the Wrangell Mt “make it with whatever substitutions you have” version… (1/2 balsamic/1/2 white vinegar instead of apple cider, pecans instead of almonds, walnut oil instead of olive oil, purple cabbage added and canned salmon instead of lettuce!) Thanks for the inspiration to make something light, fresh, new and colorful for dinner! (I’m trying the black bean brownies next!! But I think I’ll have to substitute white or pinto beans😉 )

    • yum!!! Your version sounds delicious as well! and yes, I’m already getting used to the “substitute whatever you have” lifestyle being back in Kenny Lake… It keeps things interesting! 🙂

  5. Sharon Levy says:

    Looks great! Glad you overcame your aversion to beets…I’m looking forward to trying the vegan beet chocolate cake. You may be interested in PCRM’s 21DayKickstart.org although you certainly don’t need it!

Leave a Reply

