sweet potato & adzuki curry

In the past week, my life has been thrown a bit into fast-forward mode.  After planning on flying back to Alaska in mid/late April, Joe & I made the decision to DRIVE there instead.  Exciting?  Absolutely!  A little overwhelming?  Yes!  We’re planning to leave New Orleans in a little over two weeks, which leaves a lot to be done in the meantime.  In fact, as soon as I finish writing this post, I’m heading to the Post Office to get my passport application in the mail (& of course pay an extra $80 for expedited service….) so that I can get it just in time to drive through Canada.  I’ve been wanting to get my passport for a while now, guess I just needed the right motivation!

What does that all have to do with this curry?  Well, two things.  First, we need to use up the various ingredients on the shelves, and two of those ingredients that have been catching my eye recently were a bag of adzuki beans, and our sweet potatoes from Hollygrove.  Second, I wanted to make a big batch of something that I could get a few meals out of and save time a couple other nights: one immediate dinner, one in the fridge, and one in the freezer.  (The original inspiration behind this curry came from here.)

Well, success!  And even better, yummy success!  Dinner didn’t happen until about 9:00PM last night, but it was quite worth the wait.  I, of course, went rice free and ate mine over collards, which was great, but rice alone would be excellent as well!  We topped ours with some avocado and chopped nuts (I used cashews & peanuts), and I lamented the fact that we had no fresh cilantro to include….  Next time!

(the below picture is Joe’s plate…. I couldn’t get over the literal “mountain” he created!)

Sweet Potato & Adzuki Bean Curry
serves 6

1 medium large onion, thinly sliced
olive oil
4 cloves garlic, minced
about 2 tbsp grated ginger
2 jalepenos, finely chopped
2 tsp tumeric
1 tbsp cumin
2 tsp coriander
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp cayanne
28 oz. can whole tomatoes, broken apart
14.5 oz can coconut milk
1 cup broth (I used my homemade chicken broth, but you can use veggie broth for a vegan or vegetarian version)
about 1 tsp salt, to taste
4 medium sweet potatoes, chopped (whatever size you want; I wanted marginally big chunks for mine)
2 cups cooked adzuki beans (to cook: soak 1 cup dried beans for 4-8 hours, then cook; they’ll take 30-45 minutes.)
juice of 2 limes
rice, or greens!, chopped nuts, avocado, and fresh cilantro for serving

Heat oil in a large heavy based pot over medium heat.  Add the onion and cook for about 5 minutes, maybe a little longer.  When onion is just starting to brown, add the garlic, cook for a couple more minutes, then add the ginger & jalepeno.  Stir in the tumeric, cumin, coriander, cinnamon, and cayanne and cook for another couple minutes.  Add the tomatoes, coconut milk, broth, salt and sweet potatoes.  Cook until the sweet potatoes are tender, which for me took about 45 minutes; this will totally depend on how big or small you cut the potatoes.  When potatoes are cooked, add the adzuki beans and heat through.  Stir in the lime and you’re ready to eat!

Serve with rice or greens, nuts, avocado & cilantro.  Enjoy!!🙂

This entry was posted in beans, dairy-free, entrees, Hollygrove, vegan, vegetarian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to sweet potato & adzuki curry

  1. This looks so yummy. I love how this is such a complete meal…veggiegs, carbs, protein, healthy fats. I also like that there are so many textures in one meal.

    Have a great time on your roadtrip!

  2. This looks delicious. Love sweet potatoes. I like how you added the beans. Healthy dish.
    Enjoy your trip back!

  3. Rich Knight says:

    I tried this a week ago and it was fantastic! The lime juice really perked up those earthy flavours… and I’ll definitely be truing more recipes from this site.

Leave a Reply

