dark chocolate & ginger scones

Really, I don’t know what I’m thinking right now.  Apparently, at some level deep inside myself, I want to endure torture for the duration of writing this post.  Having given up all sugar & grains for two weeks (and being only 4 1/2 days into that seemingly endless time period) as part of my cleanse, looking at the above picture is not helping my resolve!

This is my first variation of the vegan raspberry scone recipe I posted a couple weeks ago, and it’s a keeper!  My first foray into the world of vegan scones was with a chocolate ginger recipe, and it was a dismal disappointment, so I was excited to try out the combo again, this time with a recipe base I already trusted.  These lived up to my hopes – they are delicious!  Especially when warm out of the oven, and the chocolate is all melty…  Mmmm….

I made these scones last Sunday, the day before I started my cleanse, which I figured was a justifiable splurge!  I used almost the same recipe as for the raspberry scones, with just a few tweaks.  They’re sweetened only with honey & the chocolate, but if you use a high-quality dark chocolate, there probably won’t be too much sugar in it.  I went ahead and used coconut oil instead of palm-fruit shortening this time (thanks to a care package from my wonderful Mother I have a lil’ more coconut oil!), which was of course great.

Dark Chocolate & Ginger Scones
makes 8 small, or 6 larger scones

1 2/3 cups flour (I recommend half whole wheat & half white)
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground ginger
1 cup old fashioned oats
1/2 cup coconut oil or palm-fruit shortening, preferably chilled
1/3 cup honey
1/3 cup warm water
1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract
1/2 cup crystallized ginger, finely chopped (not too finely though, leave a few bigger chunks in there!)
2/3 cup dark chocolate – you can use chocolate chips, or chop up a bar of dark chocolate, like I did.  I used 70% cocoa this time, but would like to try it with an 85% bar

Preheat oven to 400 degrees, and grease a baking sheet.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, salt and ginger.  Stir in the oats.  Using a pastry blender, cut in the coconut oil or shortening until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs.

In another bowl, mix together the honey and warm water (you don’t want the water too warm, just enough that it will mix thoroughly with the honey), then add the vanilla.  Add these liquid ingredients to the crumbly mixture and stir just until incorporated.  It’s okay if the dough is wet and sticky!  Add the ginger and chocolate chunks, and stir them in.  Then knead the dough 8-12 times, using a lil’ more flour as needed, on the counter or in the bowl, whichever is easiest.

Shape your scone dough into a flattened disc, and then cut into six or eight (depending on how big you like your scones!) beautiful triangles.  Bake the scones for 15-18 minutes.  I like them on the just barely done side, but you may want them a lil’ darker.  Let them cool on the pan for a couple minutes, but not for too long, because you want to eat them warm!  These are best fresh.

Enjoy!🙂

This entry was posted in breads, breakfast & brunch, chocolate, dairy-free, vegan and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to dark chocolate & ginger scones

  1. Those look really dense and moist. Great combo.

Leave a Reply

