cabbage & shrooms

When I said I was calling this recipe “cabbage & shrooms”, as opposed to the lengthier “cabbage & mushrooms”, Joe cocked his head with a curious look and commented jokingly that people would then think I was tripping.  Thus ensued a debate over whether or not “shrooms” refers specifically to drugs, and whether I should use the full “mushrooms”, for total clarification.  Finally I concluded that I just liked the sound of “cabbage & shrooms” much better than the longer version, so I was going to use it.  And so here it is!

Even though it doesn’t really fit the mold, I decided this was the best I could do for a St. Patty’s day post, since it includes cabbage.  I’m 3 days into doing a cleanse right now, which limits my current diet to lots of vegetables & a few other specific nutrient-rich foods.  So as much as I’d like to try making Irish Soda Bread, or a Guinness Chocolate Cake, and share that experience with you, instead I’ll give you a good ol’ veggie standby.

I put together this ingredient combo one night when I had cabbage & mushrooms from my Hollygrove produce box that both needed to be used.  This saute did a wonderful job of incorporating them both, and has become a definite repeat recipe, with me even going to the extent of buying mushrooms when I didn’t have any from Hollygrove and was thinking about how tasty this would be for dinner….

This is a wonderfully yummy & simple side dish, and I think one of my favorite things about it is how the steps & timing work out so perfectly.  You chop the onions, and while they’re caramelizing, slice the cabbage, at which point the onions are ready, and you can add the cabbage to the pan, then slice the mushrooms, toss them in, season a bit, and you’re good to go!

Cabbage & Shrooms
serves 2-4, depending on how much you like cabbage….

1 Tbsp olive oil
1 Tbsp minced garlic
1 Tbsp grated ginger
1 medium onion, sliced
about 4 cups cabbage
8 ounces fresh mushrooms
1/4 cup water
salt & pepper

Heat the oil over medium heat in a large saucepan (cast-iron, if you have it!).  Add the onion, and saute until caramelized golden brown and beautiful, this takes a while, but makes for awesome flavor.  While the onion is cooking, slice your cabbage, then add it to the pan once the onions are ready, along with the garlic & ginger.  At this point you can add the water as well; you may need less than a 1/4 cup, it’s just there to help with the cooking and steam the cabbage a bit, so you could start with less & add more as needed.  Slice your mushrooms, then add them to the pan, stir and let cook for a few more minutes, or until everything is cooked to your liking.  Season with salt & pepper.

Enjoy!!🙂

This entry was posted in dairy-free, Hollygrove, sides, vegan and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to cabbage & shrooms

  1. Recipe Chefs says:

    Excellent recipe. Thanks for sharing this post. I really enjoy reading your blog. Feel free to check out our recipes.

  2. chrysta says:

    Hey! Love your site. This recipe looks so delicious. Great flavor combination. Solid recipe!

Leave a Reply

