peanut butter chocolate chip biscotti

Biscotti.  It’s one of those lovely words that sounds like what it is: crisp, light, interesting, maybe a bit crunchy, not too sweet….  A perfect complement to a nice smooth word like coffee, or chai.  Mmm, yes.

I’ve had a bit of a biscotti craving recently, which was exacerbated last Wednesday when, towards the end of our shift, one of my co-workers unwrapped and dipped a delicate chocolate piece in her coffee.  I shared with her that I’d been thinking a lot about making biscotti recently.  “You can MAKE this stuff?!”  she responded excitedly, “I love it!  I eat a piece every day!”  So I told her I’d bring her a piece, and she said I needed to teach her how to it’s made.  Deal.

Mhm, I needed to make some biscotti.  Again I was faced with the problem that all of my favorite biscotti recipes were far away in Alaska.  I’d found a recipe a couple weeks back for peanut butter chocolate chip biscotti, which I was skeptical of, but curious enough to try.  After all, it is hard to go too wrong when you’re talking about peanut butter and chocolate!

My verdict:  These don’t quite have what I’m looking for in a piece of biscotti, but are still a nice treat along with a cup of tea (or coffee, but I don’t have any).  I reduced the sugar, used half wheat, and added a few other things to the original recipe, so they are reasonably healthy and have good flavor, but not the light, crisp texture I was looking for.  Still, Joe loved them.  He’s been craving chocolate chip cookie bars, and, after being dunked in a cup of tea, said this was a great substitute.  In fact, the batch of these that I baked Friday afternoon was gone by this morning, so I actually have a new batch of biscotti in the oven as I write.  You may be hearing about these new guys in a few days; we’ll see.

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Biscotti
makes 15-20 biscotti

1/4 cup palm-fruit shortening (or coconut oil, or butter if dairy isn’t an issue)
1/3 cup peanut butter (natural is fine)
3/4 brown sugar
1 large egg + 1 egg yolk (save the white for the egg wash)
1 tsp vanilla
2 cups flour (1 cup wheat & 1 cup white)
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp salt
3/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
1 Tbsp water

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees, and grease a cookie sheet.

In a large bowl, mix together the shortening, peanut butter and sugar until smooth.  Add the egg, egg yolk and vanilla, and beat until well combined.

In a medium bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt.  Add these dry ingredients all at once to the egg mixture and stir until mostly incorporated; add the chocolate.  The dough will be dry & crumbly, but it’s okay; they’ll be fine.  With your hands, shape the dough together and transfer to the cookie sheet.  Make sure that all the bits of dough are holding together, but you don’t need to knead the dough or anything.  Shape into a flattened log about a foot long and four inches wide; this sizing can vary according to how you like your biscotti shaped.  Mix the reserved egg white with the Tbsp of water and brush the top of your biscotti log.

Bake for 25-30 minutes, or until golden brown.  They should be cooked through.  Remove from the oven and let cool for 5-10 minutes (until you can handle them).  Using a serrated knife, slice each log into biscotti slices about an inch thick.  Place all the biscotti, cut side down, on the baking sheet and bake for another 10 minutes.  Remove from oven, flip biscotti over, and bake for 10 more minutes.

Make some coffee or tea and enjoy!!🙂

This entry was posted in breakfast & brunch, chocolate, cookies, dairy-free, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to peanut butter chocolate chip biscotti

  1. Paola says:

    These look so good🙂

    Thanks for sharing!

  2. Sarah Dolge says:

    Sounds delicious. Is the egg wash very important? Since we are egg free now, do you think it would really affect the taste, or texture or is it more for the look?

    • akbeck04 says:

      Sarah, I think they would be fine without the egg wash; I think this is the only biscotti recipe I’ve used that even calls for the egg wash, so it’s not too essential. Eggs, though, are pretty essential ingredients in making biscotti. From what I’ve read, ‘real‘ biscotti uses only eggs, no other liquids, for binding. So I think there probably are egg-free biscotti recipes out there, but your results are probably going to be pretty different.

Leave a Reply

