the vegan scone

I’ve eaten an identical breakfast the last three Sunday mornings.  Considering the fact that I eat almost the exact same thing (a lil’ yogurt & 2 eggs…) every other morning of the week, this really shouldn’t be all that special of an occurrence.  But it is!!!  Why?

Because Sundays are scone days.

Enter the vegan raspberry oat scone.  Mmmm, now, wouldn’t you be tempted to make those every Sunday morning?  They’re delicious!  And, really, truly, they’re a pretty healthy option as well.

This recipe came about after spending a couple weeks craving a good scone, looking wistfully at the ones in the coffee shop, but always turning them down.  I think I was also just craving the activity of baking something, which happens more often then is good for my attempted low-carb diet.  The problem with the scone craving (besides the carbs….), was that every previous time I’d made scones, there was a good amount of butter and heavy cream involved.

I was in need of a vegan scone recipe.  One was tried, and it was a sincere disappointment.  There had to be a better option!  So I googled, and googled, and googled some more.  I read quite a lot of scone recipes.  Finally I put together one of my own, which I felt reasonably confident about.  Besides the fact that it’s a vegan recipe, it’s also sweetened only with honey!  I mean, how can you beat that?

So I bought raspberries, we made scones after church, they came out of the oven looking beautiful, and then I nervously tried one, hoping that the recipe formula I had created didn’t result in an unappetizing lump of clay.  It had not.  I was pleased.  I took another bite.  I was very pleased.  The texture was right, the flavor was right, mmmm, this was a successful vegan scone.

Now you can make some of your own.  They turn out great with 1/2 whole wheat & 1/2 white flour- it’s the only way I’ve made them, but you could probably go 100% either way if you wanted.  I’ve used frozen raspberries, but fresh would probably also work, although I’m not not sure about kneading the dough with fresh berries; it may be a bit trickier.

Vegan Raspberry Oat Scones
makes 8 small, or 6 perfect large scones

1 3/4 cups flour (I recommend half whole wheat & half white)
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 cup old fashioned oats
1/2 cup coconut oil or palm-fruit shortening, preferably chilled
1/3 cup honey
1/3 cup warm water
1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract
1 cup frozen raspberries

Preheat oven to 350 degrees, and grease a baking sheet.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, salt and cinnamon.  Stir in the oats.  Using a pastry blender, cut in the coconut oil or shortening until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs.

In another bowl, mix together the honey and warm water (you don’t want the water too warm, just enough that it will mix thoroughly with the honey), then add the vanilla.  Add these liquid ingredients to the crumbly mixture and stir just until incorporated.  If the mixture seems a little too wet, through a little more flour in.  Add the raspberries and quickly stir them in.  Then knead the dough 8-12 times, using more flour as needed, on the counter or in the bowl, whichever is easiest.  I’ve been told that 12 is the perfect number, but if your raspberries are getting too destroyed I suggest stopping earlier.

Shape your scone dough into a flattened disc, and then cut into six or eight (depending on how big you like your scones!) beautiful triangles.  Bake the scones for 18-25 minutes.  I like them on the just barely done side, but you may want them a lil’ darker.  Let them cool on the pan for a couple minutes, but not for too long, because you want to eat them warm!  These are best when fresh.

Enjoy!🙂

This entry was posted in breads, breakfast & brunch, dairy-free, vegan and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to the vegan scone

  1. Pingback: dark chocolate & ginger scones | the ragamuffin diaries

  2. Liss says:

    I googled vegan scones tonight and came across your site. WOW! Simple and so so so good. And I made them really not healthy with a lemon icing on top. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

