Mardi Gras Cabbage Salad

There’s a certain vegetable that I’ve recently become a huge fan of.  I used to not really think much of cabbage, and certainly didn’t have any good ideas for cooking with it.  After all, my only experience with the veggie was either raw in yucky soggy coleslaw (sorry for those folks who like that stuff) or cooked as a slimy, limp, lifeless addition to corned beef.

Then a couple years ago I discovered an Asian coleslaw recipe, and realized cabbage could be put to good use.  And then I started making my own sauerkraut.  Mmmmm, cabbage was definitely moving up on the scale.  Recently, I feel like I may have become slightly obsessed with the stuff: there happen to be 2 1/4 heads of cabbage in the refrigerator right now.  But let me explain myself!  It’s perfectly reasonable.  The 1 1/4 heads of green cabbage came in my weekly produce box from Hollygrove Farm, and the 1 complete head is going to be used for sauerkraut, when we get around to it.  And head #2?

Yesterday Joe asked me if I had any plans for dinner.  Hesitatingly, I answered, “well, I went by the grocery store earlier and picked up a red cabbage….”

“You bought another cabbage?!?”  He was, understandably, incredulous.

I went on to explain, as stated above, that we really didn’t have that much cabbage, when taken into consideration the fact that one head is going towards sauerkraut, and, after all, red cabbage is a totally different item, isn’t it?

So I made a cabbage salad, adapted from a recipe over at Smitten Kitchen.  And after I made it, I realized I had a lovely mix of purple, green, and gold (from the toasted walnuts), hence the festive, and seasonally appropriate, name.

If you don’t already have a cabbage hanging out in your refrigerator, you should buy one.  Or maybe even two, if you’re daring and want the gorgeous multi-color combination.   And then you should make this salad.  Mmmm….

Mardi Gras Cabbage Salad
serves 3-4, depending on how hungry you are

6-8 cups cabbage, I recommend a mix of red and green
1/2 cup walnuts
2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
1 tablespoon lemon juice
salt & pepper
1-2 tablespoons horseradish, depending on how strong you want the flavor to be
1/3 cup olive oil
1 apple – any variety, as long as it’s crisp

Toast the walnuts.  You can do this in the oven, or the fast way, like I did, in a skillet.  I used a little bit of coconut oil, but, if milk isn’t a problem for you, butter would work wonderfully as well.

Thinly slice your cabbage and throw it in a bowl.

For the dressing, combine the vinegar, lemon juice, salt & pepper, and horseradish.  Then whisk in the olive oil.  Taste and adjust the seasonings if needed.

Chop up your apple, then toss together with the cabbage, walnuts and dressing.  Let sit for a couple minutes, taste, and adjust seasonings again as needed.

Enjoy! :-)

This entry was posted in dairy-free, Hollygrove, salads, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

