winter squash galette

There once was a time when I was an “immediate” blogger.  I’d concoct a recipe, make it, then post about it sometime that night or the next day.  However, living with dial-up internet has changed my ways!  Now it seems that many of my posts happen 1-2 weeks after the recipe was made.  The internet here is just much too slow to upload any pictures; most of the time it’s too slow to even be able to browse all the other food blogs I love to read!

So I’ve devised a pretty reasonable system at this point.  Joe & I go to the library almost every Monday and Wednesday, and on those days, food blogs are the priority.  Those are my days to upload all the pictures from any recipes I tried in the last week, and the days to go read and explore other inspiring blogs.  That way, the pictures are ready, and I can write my posts from home any time.  But still, sometimes I wish there was the immediate gratification of posting something right after enjoying it.

All that to say, these were the last food pictures taken with my old camera before it died about a week and a half ago.  The above picture of a gorgeous ice sculpture was taken at the World Championship Ice Carving Exhibit here in Fairbanks, the evening when my camera had its last hurrah.  Our favorite sculpture was the one above; Joe & I loved the detail in the jaguar (we’re actually still debating what kind of cat it’s supposed to be, but I’ve concluded jaguar seems to make the most sense) and porcupine, and apparently so did everyone else since it was the first place carving.

And now on to the galette, which is currently one of my favorite food categories.  It was a totally new idea to Joe, and one I’d only tried once before.  After absolutely loving this winter squash galette, we’ve since had two other galette adventures!  I fell in love with the idea of this recipe because of the flakiness of the crust contrasting with the smooth squash filling, and it was just as wonderful as I’d hoped.

The galette was wonderful right out of the oven with some steamed greens.  It was surprisingly also wonderful the next day when we ate it as a cold dinner between getting off work and heading to the ice park.  Kinda like cold pizza, I guess!

Winter Squash Galette
(adapted slightly from here)
serves 4

Dough:
2 1/2 cups whole wheat flour (if gluten free, I have made this crust using brown rice flour; it’s crumbly & harder to work with – my finished result wasn’t what I’d call gorgeous – but it was absolutely delicious!)
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup cold coconut oil, shortening or butter
1/3-1/2 cup cold water, as needed

Filling:
about 3 pounds winter squash (I had a 3 1/2 lb butternut squash)
1 large head garlic, cloves separated but not peeled
olive oil
1 onion, finely diced
2 1/2 tsp dried sage
2 tsp dried rosemary, crushed
salt & pepper, to taste

1 egg, beaten (if vegan, just omit this; it won’t matter!)

Dough: Mix together the flour and salt; cut in the coconut oil until mixture resembles pea-sized crumbs.  Sprinkle water over by tablespoon and toss it with the flour mixture until the dough comes together in a ball.  Press into a disc and chill for at least 15 minutes.

Filling: Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Cut squash in half, scrape out seeds and brush with olive oil.  Put garlic in cavities and place cut side down in baking sheet.  Bake until tender, about 40-50 minutes.  While cooking, saute the onion in olive oil, adding the herbs to it when finished.  Scoop out squash and squeeze out garlic cloves into a bowl.  Mash together until fairly smooth, and mix in the onion/herb mixture.  Season with salt and pepper.

Roll out dough into about a 16 inch circle (about 1/8 inch thick).  Fold into quarters, transfer to pan and unfold.  Spread filling over it, leaving a border of 2 or more inches.  Pleat dough and fold over filling, then brush edges with egg.  Bake until golden, 25-30 minutes.

Enjoy!!! :-)

This entry was posted in breads, dairy-free, entrees, gluten-free, refined sugar-free, vegan, vegetables, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to winter squash galette

  1. It’s like Pumpkin Pie… in April! :)

  2. Eileen says:

    This looks like an excellent plan for the butternut squash that has been waiting patiently on my counter for lo, these many months. Weeks. Er, yeah. :)

    • it is a great plan! I’ve learned it might not be the best idea to pick up winter squash without a definite plan for it…. since they can keep for so long, they often end up sitting there for ages!

  3. Shira says:

    I love squash – this looks wonderful!

Leave a Reply

