updated: vegan & gluten-free salted chocolate peanut butter fudge cake

Whew!  That’s a title for a recipe.  A little long, I know, but it certainly provides an accurate description!  I made my first version of this cake for my birthday back in September, but wasn’t entirely satisfied with the results.  It was still completely delicious, and everyone else who ate it said “don’t change a thing!”, but I wasn’t happy with the texture of the filling.  I wanted something a bit fluffier & smoother than what I got the first time around.  So when’s a better time to try again than Christmas?

This time, I think I’m pretty much satisfied with the recipe.  Who knows, I may tweak it again at some point, but currently I’m not coming up with anything else I’d like to change, which makes me happy!  I absolutely love the fact that you can make a dessert this delicious and decadent, and that it can be vegan, gluten-free, and refined sugar-free!

I made a single layer cake rather than the two layers I made last time, which was much easier – I think that’s the way to go!  The peanut butter filling turned out great.  There is a bit more sugar than in the original filling recipe, but it definitely is prettier and fluffier, so I guess it’s a fair trade-off.  The first time it was entirely vegan, but this time around I tried making it with a couple of eggs from a farm in Fairbanks, and it turned out great.  If you have access to good eggs from a local farm, go ahead and use them, or just stick with the vegan cake; I have both variations in the recipe.

So Happy New Years to everyone!  I hope that you embrace it with excitement , spend it with people you love, make wonderful memories, and try new & adventurous things!  If you’re looking for a cake to kick off the new year that will be both absolutely delicious and relatively healthy, here you go!

Chocolate Fudge Cake (from My New Roots)
makes one 9-inch round

1 1/2 cup dark chocolate, melted & cooled
4 Tbsp plus 1 1/2 tsp cocoa powder
2 cups cooked chickpeas, drained
1 1/2 cup applesauce (vegan), or 1 cup applesauce plus 2 eggs
3/4 cup maple syrup
1 tsp baking powder

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease a 9 inch springform pan.  Combine beans, cocoa, applesauce, eggs if using them,  maple syrup and baking powder in a blender until smooth.  Add melted chocolate and mix well.  Pour into prepared pan and bake for 35-50 minutes (beans provide an unpredictable baking time).  Cool completely on wire rack, then chill.

Ganache (from Flying Apron’s Vegan and Gluten-Free Cookbook)

1/2 cup coconut oil
2 cups chocolate chips
1/2 cup water
1/4 tsp sea salt
2 tsp vanilla

In a double boiler, melt the chocolate and coconut oil.  When completely melted, whisk in water and salt until smooth.  Let ganache cool slightly, about 30 minutes, and then whisk in the vanilla.  Set aside for about 2 hours to let it set.  If it gets too hard, gently re-melt a couple scoops and reincorporate into the frosting.

Peanut Butter Filling

1/2 cup palm oil (I think this gives a ‘fluffier’ texture than coconut oil)
1 cup powdered organic whole cane sugar
1/8 tsp salt
2 tsp vanilla
2/3 cup natural crunchy peanut butter
heaping 1/2 cup gluten-free chocolate covered pretzels (I make my own), crushed

In a bowl, beat together the palm oil and sugar until smooth.  Add the salt, vanilla and peanut butter, again beating until smooth.

Assembling:

Remove the side from the springform pan.  Cover the top of the cake with peanut butter filling; you may have a bit left over, don’t feel like you must use it all, but be generous!  Sprinkle the chocolate covered pretzels over the filling, pushing them in slightly.  Then, cover the entire thing with a thick layer of ganache.  Again, there may be some left, but no worries – it’s delicious on it’s own!  Sprinkle flaky sea salt over top of it, then chill until serving.  It will keep for a few days.

Enjoy!! :-)

This entry was posted in beans, cakes, chocolate, dairy-free, desserts, gluten-free, refined sugar-free, vegan, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to updated: vegan & gluten-free salted chocolate peanut butter fudge cake

  1. Sarah Dolge says:

    I can’t wait to try this. I’ll have to wait until after our next Anchorage trip, but the ingredients I need will be on that grocery list! Thanks for the great idea and such yummy recipes. Please keep them coming!

  2. kholli says:

    This looks amazing! I love that it uses chickpeas and is gluten-free!

  3. Pingback: ragamuffin diaries turns one! | the ragamuffin diaries

  4. Grace Dickinson says:

    Omg, this looks and sounds amazing. And chickpeas!? Awesome.

  5. Mandy says:

    OMG, I like chickpeas, but never used it in a dessert. I do not have pressure cooker. Will it take too long to cook?

Leave a Reply

