the veganized pumpkin scone

Spell check is insistently informing me that ‘veganized’ is certainly not a word.  But I can’t seem to make myself care, and I think it makes a good name for one of my favorite ol’ recipes, in a nice updated remix.  Quite some time ago, I found the original recipe for these beauties here, and have since relished the thought of making them every time November rolls around (and plenty of times before & after!).

At some point in October, I began to fret a bit.  I’ve got a vegan scone formula base that I’m pretty happy with, but I wasn’t sure about throwing pumpkin into the mix.  How was I going to make my beloved pumpkin scones, which called for butter and heavy cream, edible for Joe (the dairy intolerant one)?  So I pulled out recipes, and with a deep breathe, concluded my substitutions weren’t too earth-shattering, and should be successful.

Coconut oil for butter, coconut milk for cream, and then the added bonus of maple syrup for sugar, and I had a winner!  These scones are completely satisfying, and I can’t even tell a difference.  I think they may even taste a bit better; they certainly are a good bit better for you!  I haven’t made them with 100% whole wheat flour yet, going half white & half wheat every time, but I’m sure they would still turn out beautifully, just a bit heavier.  I’ll let you know when I try it out.

I made these for a delicious breakfast on Thanksgiving morning, and then again on Christmas morning – you know you’ve got a winner when that happens!  Of course, December 25th wasn’t the ‘real’ Christmas in our house this year, since the whole family wasn’t home yet.  The 29th will be our Christmas day, and then we’ll have my mom’s lovely orange cinnamon rolls, a bit more of a tradition than my scones.

Most of the pictures show these with an icing, but they’re absolutely delicious (some would say even better!) without it.  I figured since we were celebrating a holiday and all it would be a good time to go all out with a lil’ more decorative touch!  I made the glaze with powdered sugar, molasses, a lil’ coconut milk & ground ginger, and the drizzle with powdered sugar, coconut milk, & cinnamon.  Of course, using the icing removes the refined-sugar-free aspect of these, so if you’re looking to keep your body real happy, maybe just skip it.

Vegan Pumpkin Scones
makes 8

2 cups flour (I’ve been using 1 cup wheat & 1 white)
1 Tbsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp allspice
1/4 tsp ginger
6 Tbsp coconut oil
1/2 cup pumpkin puree
1/4 cup canned coconut milk (you want the good & thick stuff, not the more watery coconut milk beverage)
1/4 cup maple syrup
1 tsp vanilla

Preheat your oven to 425 degrees.  Oil a baking sheet.  In a large bowl, combine flour, baking powder, salt and spices.  Cut the coconut oil into the flour mixture with a pastry blender until it resembles coarse crumbs.  In a smaller bowl, combine the pumpkin, coconut milk, maple syrup and vanilla.  Gently add wet ingredients to dry; knead 7-8 times (don’t overdo it!).  Pat dough out into a circle on the prepared baking sheet.  Cut into 8 scones; you can pull them apart slightly or let them stay connected – whatever you like!  Bake for 15 minutes.  Let cool on wire rack slightly before serving or frosting.

Enjoy!!! :-)

This entry was posted in breakfast & brunch, dairy-free, refined sugar-free, vegan, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

