carrot raisin kamut salad

On our April roadtrip from New Orleans to Alaska, Joe and I made the extremely wise decision to take a little detour through the Badlands National Park.  It was a mind-blowing place full of mystery, and our afternoon drive through was hardly enough; I’d love to get back there someday.  We had to make it to Mount Rushmore early that evening though, so we weren’t able to take our time as much as we would have liked.  Even so, we seemed to be driving a good deal slower than the majority of the other traffic.  I’d be gawking out my window, snapping pictures, when Joe would comment, “I’m collecting cars,” and pull over so that they could hurry by.   This happened repeatedly, and I kept telling him that maybe he should work on a different collection.

What does that have to do with this post?  Well, Joe collects cars, and I collect recipes.  At least, I collect recipe ideas.  I save them on in little documents on my computer, and I must have hundreds of them.  Very few of them will ever actually be followed, but I might use an idea from here and there to piece something new together.

This is one of those recipe ideas that I picked up a while ago, and have thought quite a bit about since then, but hadn’t followed through.  The original idea came from here.  As yummy as this salad looked, I wasn’t really attracted to the cooked ingredients it called for.  How do you make a wheat berry salad without cooking?  Sprouting!  Yes, I know, I have been talking about sprouts a good bit recently, but why not?  They’re so amazing!

So I sprouted a bunch of Kamut, which is a patented variety of wheat that came from Africa a while ago – I don’t remember its whole story right now.  It’s quite a bit bigger than normal wheat, and sprouts beautifully.  I ended up not getting around to making this salad as soon as I’d hoped to, so for the last three days I’ve been mixing sprouted Kamut into a little bit of oatmeal or pancake batter (I’ve been using about 60% Kamut and 40% other, which has been awesome!) for breakfast.

Life has been so unpredictably busy lately that earlier today, I was thinking I may not even get around to making this salad with my sprouts, which certainly would have been a shame!  I finally put together my own salad, and enjoyed it soooo very much!  It was absolutely gorgeous on some garden greens, and SO yummy!  In fact, I think I’m gonna make some more for my lunch on the glacier tomorrow.  It’s so easy too!

The one thing I think I’ll add when I make it again is a few chopped almonds – I think the extra crunch would be amazing!  Since I had a quiet evening last night and ate this by myself, I decided to keep the proportions for one serving, but it would be easily doubled or tripled, or whatever!

Carrot Raisin Kamut Salad
serves one

juice of 1/2 lime
1 garlic clove, crushed
1 tsp olive oil
1/2 tsp apple cider vinegar
1/2 tsp cumin
1/4 tsp paprika
1/4 tsp salt
1 carrot, shredded
1/2 cup sprouted kamut wheat
2 tbsp raisins
fresh parsley
fresh greens, for serving

In a medium size bowl, combine the garlic, olive oil, vinegar, cumin, paprika and salt.  Mix in the carrot, wheat sprouts and raisins.  Make a bed of greens on your plate, and then spoon the carrot mixture over top.  Garnish with a bit of parsley.

Enjoy!! :-)

This entry was posted in dairy-free, entrees, garden, gluten-free, salads, vegan, vegetables, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to carrot raisin kamut salad

  1. That looks wonderful. I have to show Katherine. She had this one aunt that couldn’t cook to save her life. So everyone ate either the ambrosia or the carrot salad, the only things she could make!

  2. Glenn says:

    A good salad is a wonderful thing…that one looks awesome! Nice to hear the badlands mentioned too…

  3. livinglearningeating says:

Leave a Reply

